Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Post 1 of 10
Accepted Solution

Weldment problem

454 Views, 9 Replies
03-31-2013 09:09 AM

How can I make a weldment in these kind of situtation? Arrow is pointing where I want weldment to be.

There's cut in circle part and other part is filling that to half way. How can I fill that with weld?

 

Thanks:smileyhappy:

When you see a "Cross-Part" error, this usually points to "Adaptively". When you clear (un-check) the Adaptively on the parts, the welds in the "slots" can be made.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
4,620 Posts
773 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 2 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

03-31-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: arto.ww

When you see a "Cross-Part" error, this usually points to "Adaptively". When you clear (un-check) the Adaptively on the parts, the welds in the "slots" can be made.

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
28,611 Posts
2,123 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 3 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

03-31-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: arto.ww

This assembly is designed incorrectly.

Tap Drill Size.png

 

A 20mm hole will not have any material for threads.

 

And a 20x8 box will not fit into a 20x8 hole (unless the parts are made to very tight tolerance and press fit).

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Post 4 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: arto.ww

Blair: That did the trick. Thanks!

Now I can make fillet welds around the slot. Is it possible to fill that slot with one weld? If you know what I mean.

 

JDMather: Yes it might be incorrect, I'm just learning. I thought that when I put thread in same size extruded hole would be correct way. Perhaps it would be easier to use Hole command with thread option.

*Expert Elite*
4,620 Posts
773 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 5 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:04 AM in reply to: arto.ww

Select the"Base surface for your #1, then select the four sides for your #2. You will then get all four sides under one fillet.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Post 6 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: blair

Yes I did that, but I don't mean that now. I mean is there a possiblity to make one single weld, one bigger weld which is edge to edge in that slot.

*Expert Elite*
4,620 Posts
773 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 7 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: arto.ww

Look at "Groove Weld"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Post 8 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:29 PM in reply to: blair

Yes that works. I tried it before but I chose faces from different parts, that didn't fill the slot. Now I chose faces from same part (circle), opposite sides of slot. That filled the slot entirely.

 

But if I do a stress analysis to this weldment, it would be better to put fillet welds around slot faces?

 

*Expert Elite*
4,620 Posts
773 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 9 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:46 PM in reply to: arto.ww

Most of my FEA work is done in Mechanical Simulation. I'm not sure how the FEA within IV would treat the zero-gap items and how it reads/treats welds.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Post 10 of 10

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:49 PM in reply to: blair

I don't need that FEA, just a question what came in my mind.

 

Thanks for your answers!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post