Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
accu-cad
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 1 of 9 (53 Views)

view ports in IV and placing components by constraint.

53 Views, 8 Replies
12-17-2002 12:22 AM
I know this is not Autocad but here is my question. I model space in autocad I use to divide the screen into 2 parts. In IV I would like to do the same so I can place all of my bolts in one view and jump around my assy in the other view constraining them to a location. More over if there was a place component via an autoconstraint option that would even be more helpful. Currently I place a bunch of like screws in the iam. They are never oriented to the assembly in the correct fashion so I place them all in the same area and constrain them one at a time. zooming and rotating in out and around. In a sense moving them by using the insert constraint. My video is good but the zooming and orbiting still takes up most of my time. Any suggestions on cutting time?
*Laimer, Leo
Message 2 of 9 (53 Views)

Re: view ports in IV and placing components by constraint.

12-17-2002 12:22 AM in reply to: accu-cad
Splitting the screen is not supported yet, I doubt
that it is high up on the list for the developers.

Only simplification I could suggest is to make
subassemblies for fastener sets, and make use of component patterns. I'm not
sure if the alt-drag constraining is any faster than the standard.

For now I took the road to explain our customers
that "due to software limitations currently it makes no sense to insert all
those fasteners" - basically a switch back to the ancient MDT1.x
times.

 

Regards,
--
Leo Laimer
Maschinen-
und Fertigungstechnik
A-4820 Bad Ischl - Austria


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
I
know this is not Autocad but here is my question. I model space in autocad I
use to divide the screen into 2 parts. In IV I would like to do the same so I
can place all of my bolts in one view and jump around my assy in the other
view constraining them to a location. More over if there was a place component
via an autoconstraint option that would even be more helpful. Currently I
place a bunch of like screws in the iam. They are never oriented to the
assembly in the correct fashion so I place them all in the same area and
constrain them one at a time. zooming and rotating in out and around. In a
sense moving them by using the insert constraint. My video is good but the
zooming and orbiting still takes up most of my time. Any suggestions on
cutting time?
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 9 (53 Views)

Re: view ports in IV and placing components by constraint.

12-17-2002 12:26 AM in reply to: accu-cad
Perhaps you could approach the problem from a different angle... iMates.

Rich Thomas
*Dotson, Sean
Message 4 of 9 (53 Views)

Re: view ports in IV and placing components by constraint.

12-17-2002 12:28 AM in reply to: accu-cad
1.  Windows/New Window.  Now arrange them
both....

2.  If you had the same base part you were
constraining to all of the time you could use composite imates.  When you
inserted the screw (with a similar imate) it would jump right into
position.  Short of that you could use the alt-drag method but I find it to
be pretty useless...  I would love to see a more efficient method of
inserting fasteners.


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

Check the Inventor
FAQ for most common questions

href="http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html">http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html

-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
know this is not Autocad but here is my question. I model space in autocad I
use to divide the screen into 2 parts. In IV I would like to do the same so I
can place all of my bolts in one view and jump around my assy in the other
view constraining them to a location. More over if there was a place component
via an autoconstraint option that would even be more helpful. Currently I
place a bunch of like screws in the iam. They are never oriented to the
assembly in the correct fashion so I place them all in the same area and
constrain them one at a time. zooming and rotating in out and around. In a
sense moving them by using the insert constraint. My video is good but the
zooming and orbiting still takes up most of my time. Any suggestions on
cutting time?
*Laimer, Leo
Message 5 of 9 (53 Views)

Re:

12-17-2002 12:30 AM in reply to: accu-cad
Sorry, I've overlooked tis windows
thing...

 

Regards,
--
Leo Laimer
Maschinen-
und Fertigungstechnik
A-4820 Bad Ischl - Austria


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">

1.  Windows/New Window.  Now arrange
them both....

2.  If you had the same base part you were
constraining to all of the time you could use composite imates.  When you
inserted the screw (with a similar imate) it would jump right into
position.  Short of that you could use the alt-drag method but I find it
to be pretty useless...  I would love to see a more efficient method of
inserting fasteners.


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

Check the Inventor
FAQ for most common questions

href="http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html">http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html

-----------------------------------------


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
I
know this is not Autocad but here is my question. I model space in autocad I
use to divide the screen into 2 parts. In IV I would like to do the same so
I can place all of my bolts in one view and jump around my assy in the other
view constraining them to a location. More over if there was a place
component via an autoconstraint option that would even be more helpful.
Currently I place a bunch of like screws in the iam. They are never oriented
to the assembly in the correct fashion so I place them all in the same area
and constrain them one at a time. zooming and rotating in out and around. In
a sense moving them by using the insert constraint. My video is good but the
zooming and orbiting still takes up most of my time. Any suggestions on
cutting time?
Distinguished Contributor
accu-cad
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 6 of 9 (53 Views)

Re: view ports in IV and placing components by constraint.

12-17-2002 12:36 AM in reply to: accu-cad
iMates I just heard of the other day when I started into Seans iPart tutorial. I really don't know about them yet but it gives me an option to chase that is for sure. It sound promising. Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
accu-cad
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 7 of 9 (53 Views)

Re:

12-17-2002 12:40 AM in reply to: accu-cad
Window in a window was good it got me to a good working point. That is more than liveable until I learn more. Thanks
You have no idea how much this NG helps me every day.
Thanks to all who contribute.
Distinguished Contributor
accu-cad
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 8 of 9 (53 Views)

Re:

12-17-2002 12:42 AM in reply to: accu-cad
I had thought of the sub assy routine but it screws up my first level BOM in the IDW.
Distinguished Contributor
accu-cad
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 9 of 9 (53 Views)

Re:

12-17-2002 12:44 AM in reply to: accu-cad
FOr others who read this I tried this and a first I could not find the secod window at first because it comes in minimized. I had to go looking for it but once I knew where to look it works great!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!