Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very basic question

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
poroxide
252 Views, 3 Replies

Very basic question

Hello,

I'm a beginner trying to learn Inventor for personal use.

I have a basic question:

I'm looking to place the rectangle in the following way:

Distance from Corner A to the arc of the circle = Distance from Corner B to arc = Distance from bottom side to Diameter line

center.png

I tried constraining the two corners to the arc of the circle, but they stick right to the edge.

I need some sort of margin and I have no idea how to do it, or where to look for the tutorial.

Thanks in advance!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
graemev
in reply to: poroxide

Parameters and constraints are your friends.  Assuming you won't be changing the orientation (by rotation) of the rectangle:

1) Place a vertical constraint between the center of the circle and the midpoint of a horizontal line of the rectangle.  This will force B to be as far from the circle as A.

2) Dimension the circle.

3) Dimension from the bottom of the rectangle to the center of the circle by the offset you desire.

4) Dimension from the center of the circle to A, but radially, not orthogonally.  Set the value to the circle's radius less the offset from step 3.  (While editing the value, select the dimension to have its parameter name fill into the editing box.  You can divide by 2 if the circle's dimension is diametral instead of radial.)

If you might later wish for the rectangle not to be horizontal, first place a construction line from the center of the circle to the midpoint of the rectangle's top.  If you project an appropriate origin axis - also as construction geometry - you can skip step one and use an angular dimension between the two construction lines to orient the rectangle.