Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
slphantom
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎07-20-2007
Message 1 of 4 (248 Views)

vault basic 2013 needed for content center?

248 Views, 3 Replies
11-12-2012 11:09 AM

when I was installing content center after I already installed IV2013 it told me I needed to install vault basic. Do I really need to have it installed? We have never used it in the 10+ years we have been using inventor. I ask this because my co-worker does not have it installed and he can use content center and my I.T. guy came down and asked why I have it installed.

Scott
win 7 64 bit sp1
cpu intel xeon E5-2687W0@3.106
eight core
two solid state hard drives
32 gig of ram
Autodesk product design
suite premuim 2014 64bit
Nvida quadro 4000
Space Pilot ver. 1.6.2 2010
slphantom (NNTP handle: scottl)
You may recognize me from the
hundreds of previous newsreader posts
I've made over the last 5 years
as scottl

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,217
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (245 Views)

Re: vault basic 2013 needed for content center?

11-12-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: slphantom

I do not believe it is needed if you load Desktop Content Center libraries. 

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 514
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 3 of 4 (239 Views)

Re: vault basic 2013 needed for content center?

11-12-2012 12:23 PM in reply to: slphantom

As long as you have the CC files located where you or anyone else can access them (such as on a main server), you can use them without Vault. I've never done such but it should be possible.

 

Look into using Vault, it can be a huge time saver and it can also save your life as far as files go. Copy Design is a huge advantage that I've used numerous times. Vault Workgroups adds in revision control if that's needed. I swear by Vault (I know, some people swear at it).

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,217
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 4 (211 Views)

Re: vault basic 2013 needed for content center?

11-14-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

Jim, I both swear by it and at it... multiple times on the same day!

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.