Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mwood
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 1 of 5 (1,396 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using User Parameters in Drawing Sketch

1396 Views, 4 Replies
08-22-2011 11:06 AM

We are trying to add reference lines to the idw drawing for a sub-assembly.  These lines represent centerlines of parts of the main assembly. The main assembly is not the reference file for the drawing.  However, the required dimension setting the centerlines is a User Parameter in the sub-assembly.  (The centerlines are represented by work planes in the sub-assembly file).  Using iLogic, we were able to populate the User Parameter from the sub-assembly into the idw file.  We can see it as a User Parameter in the idw file.  However, when we go into sketch mode the User Parameter is not an option.    In sketch mode, we pull a dimension between the two centerlines (d4).  When you look at the parameters d4 does not exist so we cannot set d4 equal to our User Parameter (and we've looked there are no filters on).      We need this dimension to be able to adjust as the length of the sub-assembly adjusts for different cases.  Each case is unique and done on a job by job basis. 

 

There are several places in our drawings where being able to place reference lines and set their relationship to the part would be very useful. 

 

1.  Why are the User Parameters not available for use in sketch mode on a drawing?

2.  Why can the dimension IDs (ex. d4) not be seen by looking at the parameters? 

3.  Does anybody have a suggestion of an alternative way of putting reference lines on a drawing? 

 

Molly

Maybe you can show the work planes from the subassembly in the drawing, instead of creating reference lines?  Here's a screenshot that shows how to make work planes visible:

 

WorkPlaneDrawing.png

 

If that doesn't work, and you still need reference lines, it is possible to have a user parameter drive sketch dimensions in a drawing.  It can be done using API functions in an iLogic rule.  See the attached text file DriveDrawingSketchParam .txt.  This has a user parameter named SketchDriver0 and a sketch parameter named d0.  Change these names as necessary.  You may also have to change the names sheet and view names (Sheet:1 and DRAFT).  This rule assumes that you have only one sketch in the view.  It could be modified to access other sketches.

 

 As you found, the User Parameters in a drawing cannot be connected directly to the sketch parameters.  Unlike a part or assembly, there are no Model Parameters: each sketch exists by itself with its own parameters.  The User Parameters were added in Inventor 2011 for use in iLogic rules.  They are not connected to anything else in the drawing.

Employee
MjDeck
Posts: 959
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,360 Views)

Re: Using User Parameters in Drawing Sketch

08-23-2011 07:47 AM in reply to: mwood

Maybe you can show the work planes from the subassembly in the drawing, instead of creating reference lines?  Here's a screenshot that shows how to make work planes visible:

 

WorkPlaneDrawing.png

 

If that doesn't work, and you still need reference lines, it is possible to have a user parameter drive sketch dimensions in a drawing.  It can be done using API functions in an iLogic rule.  See the attached text file DriveDrawingSketchParam .txt.  This has a user parameter named SketchDriver0 and a sketch parameter named d0.  Change these names as necessary.  You may also have to change the names sheet and view names (Sheet:1 and DRAFT).  This rule assumes that you have only one sketch in the view.  It could be modified to access other sketches.

 

 As you found, the User Parameters in a drawing cannot be connected directly to the sketch parameters.  Unlike a part or assembly, there are no Model Parameters: each sketch exists by itself with its own parameters.  The User Parameters were added in Inventor 2011 for use in iLogic rules.  They are not connected to anything else in the drawing.



Mike Deck
Software Developer
DLS - Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
mwood
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 3 of 5 (1,357 Views)

Re: Using User Parameters in Drawing Sketch

08-23-2011 07:53 AM in reply to: MjDeck

Mike,

 

Thank you for the response.  We will try showing the work planes on the drawing.  I think that may work for our application.  However, in case it doesn't, could you attach the text file you mentioned in the previous post? 

 

Thanks,

 

Molly Wood

 

Contributor
Genicee
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,021 Views)

Re: Using User Parameters in Drawing Sketch

12-27-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: mwood

Can .txt file code be modified for sketch symbols?

Active Member
manikanda.prabhu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (712 Views)

Re: Using User Parameters in Drawing Sketch

10-10-2013 12:56 AM in reply to: mwood

How does the code will be if there are many sketches.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.