Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 1 of 6 (199 Views)

Unknown Error With a surface split.

199 Views, 5 Replies
10-26-2012 09:37 AM

Attached is a surface model with parameters which drives an assembly I have.  I was testing it by changing dimensions to see where failures in the main assembly occured.  It worked for a few changes so I saved it and checked it into vault.  

 

The Split using the 70 Deg Plane (you will find them in the browser, Split 5 and Split 7) is where the problem occurs.  When I increase the outside diameter (i made it 147 in.), Spits 5 and 7 get moved up to the top half.

 

The same surface (named OUTER HOUSING SIDE) and its mirror are split on the XZ plane prior to the splits in question (5 and 7).

 

Could anyone tell me what exactly is happening?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,481
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 6 (191 Views)

Re: Unknown Error With a surface split.

10-26-2012 10:10 AM in reply to: rms390

I didn't take a look at the problem you describe - but it looks to me like you are doing too much work.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 3 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: Unknown Error With a surface split.

10-26-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: rms390

I rolled back my eop marker to where it is just the three surfaces and splits.  It does the same thing.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,481
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 6 (163 Views)

Re: Unknown Error With a surface split.

10-26-2012 05:36 PM in reply to: rms390

Took a longer look at this - you are doing wayyyyyyyy too much work.
When you get it finished - attach the file(s) here and I'll show you how I would have done it.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 5 of 6 (142 Views)

Re: Unknown Error With a surface split.

10-27-2012 06:52 PM in reply to: rms390

I finished it up on friday and it seems to be working now.  I appreciate the help and I will attach it on monday.

Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 6 of 6 (104 Views)

Re: Unknown Error With a surface split.

10-29-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: rms390

here is the file

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.