Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mkrishna
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2005
Message 1 of 10 (1,015 Views)

unable to create component.

1015 Views, 9 Replies
12-09-2007 06:26 PM
Hi ,
I am having problem to insert a component from content center.
Need help.
Regards
Krishna madaiah
mkrishna@stratacontrol.com.au
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 2 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

12-09-2007 07:42 PM in reply to: mkrishna
Have you used CC since u installed Inv? You may need to check to see if you have installed it properly or perhaps not migrated the files. Run ADMS Console to check.

Regards
Stew
Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Contributor
mkrishna
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2005
Message 3 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

12-09-2007 08:12 PM in reply to: mkrishna
i was CC till 2 weeks back. had this problem.
uninstalled ADMS, Vault, IV , content center.
reinstalled all back. this problem exists.
krishna
Valued Contributor
jan_priban
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎11-07-2002
Message 4 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

12-11-2007 06:36 AM in reply to: mkrishna
Please verify:
- If you have write permission for folder where standard parts are generaed from CC. This is given by Inventor project file -> Folder Options -> Content Center Files
- When you work with standard part with thread like bolts, nut, you need path to Thread.xls describing thread, it defined by Inventor project file -> Folder Options -> Design Data

Aslo for sure look Application Option -> File. There are aslo default settings for CC part location and Design Data.

I would recommend you
- activate Default project file
- when Default.ipj is active, create new your project file, make CC location to a local folder where you have write permitions, let default Design Data as C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2008\Design Data\
- try if you are able to place CC content supplied by Autodesk, DIN, ISO

Jan Priban (Autodesk)
Active Member
c.bergshoeff
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 5 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

03-03-2008 07:01 AM in reply to: mkrishna
Jan,

I have the same problem and tried al the options you've mentioned.
I have a bad feeling that it started after I had installed the 2009 beta, but I'm not sure about that. In the mean time I removed the beta but the problem persists.

regards,

Cor
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,866
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

03-03-2008 07:04 AM in reply to: mkrishna
>I had installed the 2009 beta...

Re-install r2008.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
c.bergshoeff
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 7 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

03-03-2008 07:18 AM in reply to: mkrishna
Is that a wild guess or a proven solution?

Thanks,

Cor
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,866
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

03-03-2008 07:19 AM in reply to: mkrishna
I can't say that I participated in Beta, but it is more than a wild guess on my end.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
c.bergshoeff
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 9 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

03-03-2008 08:12 AM in reply to: mkrishna
OK, I'll give t a try..
New Member
alhich
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-30-2010
Message 10 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: unable to create component.

01-30-2010 09:19 AM in reply to: mkrishna
I got the same error due to the Arabic standard and format setting in regional and language option in windows vista.
I changed the standard and format to English (US) and solved the problem.
Please make Hotfix for this problem.
Thank you.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.