Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable Snap to Centerpoint of Holes in 2d View, snap settings have been checked.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
jmgarner84
889 Views, 5 Replies

Unable Snap to Centerpoint of Holes in 2d View, snap settings have been checked.

I am new to inventor.  

My current project invovles using Geomagic Design X.  We model a solid part in Design X using a point cloud.  We then transfer the model into Inventor LT using a step file.  My problem is the part has holes in it, and when I go to annotate it, I am unable to snap to the center of the holes, the feature data doesn't transfer in the step file, I found an add on, that is supposed to help with feature recognition but it's not picking up my holes.  

I figured out how to sketch in the centerpoint and the centerline of the holes in the 3d  model workspace, and I can see them in the 2d drawing view, but I am still unable to snap to it in the 2d drawing view when attempting to connect a line to it.  All my snap settings are correct, I've read everything I can find, and I still have no idea.

My goal is to measure the delta angle from the established centerline(which I can snap to by the way) to the individual holes.  I am doing this by drawing a vertical line from the centerpoint to the vertial polar snap.  I then draw another line from the center point of the part, to a close approximation of the centerpoint of the hole(since I can't snap to that)  I then find the angle between the two lines.  

If anybody has a better method I'm all ears. 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
t_hutns
in reply to: jmgarner84

Hello,