Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tube & Pipe Question

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
dave_deane
715 Views, 9 Replies

Tube & Pipe Question

Using Inv 2008 here.

I have some experience with T&P, but was always with simple runs from point A to B.

I now need to create a branch in a run and I am having problems trying to get the Tee to the correct orientation. I am only able to create it manually but would like to achieve this with the T&P if possible. This way the route would adjust if the connection location is modified (most likely). The short bigger diameter pieces represent the existing lines I am connecting into and are not part of the pipe run. Please see the detail I pasted below

http://screencast.com/t/xWOfoeFOErL

Thanks,

Dave

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: dave_deane

This can be done very easily.

1.  Activate the run that contains the fitting that needs to be replaced.

2.  Click the Place From Content Center command, and select the new fitting.

3.  Select the correct size.

4.  Click on the old fitting and the new fitting will be inserted.

5.  Press the space bar to change to the desired orientation.

Message 3 of 10
dave_deane
in reply to: Anonymous

That works.

I was selecting the fitting first, RMC, "replace from content center". However, It doesn't give you an opportunity to change orientation.

Thank You!,

Dave

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous

No problem.  Glad I could help!

Message 5 of 10
cbenner

You can use the "Replace" command as well, but it becomes a 2 step process.  Change the fitting from elbow to tee, then right click on the elbow and select "Change Orientation".  From there you can use the space bar trick to change the way it is pointing.

Thanks John, for pointing out another way of accomplishing this in one step.