Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

trouble lofting a surface

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
jeregonn
1423 Views, 18 Replies

trouble lofting a surface

I am attempting to use the loft feature to create a surface between two pieces of projected 3D geometry. I have never used the loft feature before so its very possible I am making a simple mistake. I am aware that using projected geometry is not the preffered method of doing things but to try and re-draw, or even trace over projected construction lines would be difficult given the geometry of this part.

The reason I need this surface lofted between the two is that I need to exagerate the anlge on this piece, then I will be printing a plug to use for hydroforming the part.

Any help is greatly appreciated, Thanks for you time.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
pcrawley
in reply to: jeregonn

Inventor 2010...?  Do you have anything newer?

The problem is 3D Sketch6 - notice how it's broken into odd segments?  It can be lofted, but needs a bit of help in the form of a better surface edge.  Have a look at this - it's easier than typing.  No point me sending you the part if you're using 2010 sorry Smiley Happy

Peter
Message 3 of 19
jeregonn
in reply to: pcrawley

I have a copy of a student version of 2014 on my school laptop, however on my PC at work I only have 2010.

Here is what I have so far. I still need to fill the area between the surfaces with a solid. I have tried using sculpt and loft to acomplish this with out any luck. What is the correct method?

If you notice the area around the flat surface with the D-shaped features you can see I offset the flat surface by .075. My plan is to after I have the solid use the fillet command to add radi and smooth that transition out. Will that work? Is there a better way to accomplish that?