Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
inventorsucks
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 1 of 12 (367 Views)

Today's Inventor problem

367 Views, 11 Replies
02-19-2014 10:49 AM

Please bare with me, writing is not my strong point.

 

So today, I opened a assembly to make a few minor changes (lol, nothing is ever easy with this software), when i went to flip a channel 180 degrees, inventor/frame generator let me flip it graphically (it showed it flipped in a wireframe image) but it would not let me edit the part, or save the changes.

I had to select a different family of parts then re-select the correct part, however i didn't wanna do this because it would destory my already done and checked dwg. Well guess what to late even after i hit cancel the program created a new part which cause a whole slew of problems trying to check the drawing back in.

The only way to get it to work was to create a new part (which is not acceptable, this part has a ton of dims. connected to it in the dwg)

 

Which lead to this little gem, when i shut down the assembly, and called it back up, and asked for it to overwrite the information with the information from Vault, which it didn't it brought up the changed assembly. So i then called our support/vendor, they informed me that I had to shut Inventor completely down and reboot it to get the old version of the assembly.

 

To me this seems absurd, I was told that Vault was able to preform this function properly....

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,387
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 12 (363 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 10:54 AM in reply to: inventorsucks

I'm sorry, but is there a question in there somewhere?

 

I have to ask, how much training have you had with Inventor?  I've been able to perform the same operations you are describing here with few or no difficulties.  I can't help but wonder how much is the program, and how much is training.  Not to downplay your frustration, because we've all ben there.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Contributor
inventorsucks
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 3 of 12 (350 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 11:06 AM in reply to: cbenner

Training is not the issue, i have no other place to voice my opinions and problems with the software.

and here goes the question, is this correct, do i have to shut down inventor, in order to revert back to a older version even thou i opened the part threw the vault tab and told the system to overwrite it with the information from vault...if that is the case (which i was informed it is, then this has been a major bug that needs to be addressed and has caused me problems for the past year)

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,387
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 12 (319 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 12:20 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

Can you describe your workflow?  When you originally made the changes, did you save the local copy and check the file back in to Vault?  When you re-opened did you reopen the local copy, or did you open form Vault using the Vault plug in?  Have you tried on your Vault tab (in the browser), Refresh?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,944
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 12 (298 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 12:56 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

I recommend that you find a competent VAR or consultant to come in and examine your workflow.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
inventorsucks
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 6 of 12 (282 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 01:45 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

no i didn't save the local copy, not i didn't re-open the local copy, and yes i re-opened it from vault, told the system to overwrite the old information on my local drive with the information from vault, this is not a work flow issue, it is a inventor/vault communication issue, my vendor/support person told me that i have to dump the cache in order for this to work properly, which means i have to shut down and reboot inventor

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,944
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 12 (273 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-19-2014 02:01 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

My recommendation doesn't change, I think you should have a competent consultant come in and examine the workflow.

 

Virtually every time I take a look at problems like this I discover a dozen different confounding variables that the user didn't recognize.  It often helps to have a fresh set if eyes take a look, especially when a user has reached a certain level of frustration.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
coreyparks
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 8 of 12 (225 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-20-2014 02:13 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

Did you have an assembly open that referenced the part you were trying to get the other version of?

Please mark this response "Accept as solution" if it answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Corey Parks
IV2014 Factory Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Synergis Adept document management software
16gb RAM --- Nvidia Quadro 4000 2gb
Member
clara.csdrafting
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-07-2014
Message 9 of 12 (207 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-20-2014 07:39 PM in reply to: inventorsucks

I have experienced similar issues with trying to edit a frame generator part.  The Change window will show any adjustments you intend to make, but the OK button is grayed out.  A trick that sometimes works is look at your assembly from a perpendicular end view (like for a vertical assembly I'd click TOP on the view cube), then select edit with frame generator.  The part will sometimes then get detected by Inventor and let me make changes. 

 

I am finding that parts placed with frame generator, once you place like notches on it or something, are usually the ones that won't let you edit it w/ frame generator afterward.

 

I also agree w/ Corey's comment about if you have the file you are trying to revert back to an earlier instance, having another file open that contains this file can be the culprit.  When I change back a version, or when someone else on my network updates a reused file I currently have open in an assembly I'm currently working in, I save / close / reopen my assembly and the updated child file will adjust to the version it's suppose to be at. 

 

And in response to some of the other comment on this post:

 

The forums are a good place to vent, and a great place to problem solve.  I repeatedly see people advising "get a consultant" in this community.  Although this is always a viable option, the point of these forums is to be a "watering hole" or a discussion board for us to post topics that other users can see.  This gets actual issues in front of Autodesk's eyes, allows others who have experienced similar issues to divulge helpful information, and allows users that want to help problem solve to do just that.  Just sayin'. 

 

Thanks!

 

- Clara P. Sandoval

------------------------------
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
Contributor
inventorsucks
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 10 of 12 (166 Views)

Re: Today's Inventor problem

02-21-2014 06:13 AM in reply to: inventorsucks

I worked around most of the issues, one issue was the content center was changed from our 2013, (i don't know why) to 2014 change over. However, this brings up another good point, why wouldn't inventor not retain the information and allow me to flip the part???

 

As for the assembly it was, or seemed to be a maxed out memory problem, Inventor doesn't dump memory, i think they are pushing the limits of the software, and asking (or trying to make it) be smarter than it is.

 

Vault, well lets just say i don't have these problems with Excel files checking them in

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!