Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mmiller1
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 1 of 9 (76 Views)

Title Block Information

76 Views, 8 Replies
11-13-2002 06:06 AM
I have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam file. If I bring that .iam file
into that template the title block information is transfered from the 3D model into the title block. Works
great!

I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an .ipn file and exploded it. This
is still an assembly so I grabbed the above mentioned 2D drawing template then placed the .ipn of
my assembly into the 2D drawing. This time, the title block information did not get populated?
Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.

Please Help!!!

Mike
*Dotson, Sean
Message 2 of 9 (76 Views)

Re: Title Block Information

11-13-2002 06:09 AM in reply to: mmiller1
Is the information filled out in the ipn's
properties?  If not then it will not fill out the titleblock. 
Property info (for the most part) does not propagate from parent to child
automatically.


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam file. If I
bring that .iam file
into that template the title block information is
transfered from the 3D model into the title block. Works
great!

I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an .ipn
file and exploded it. This
is still an assembly so I grabbed the above
mentioned 2D drawing template then placed the .ipn of
my assembly into the
2D drawing. This time, the title block information did not get populated?

Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.

Please Help!!!

Mike

Distinguished Contributor
mmiller1
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 3 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 07:10 AM in reply to: mmiller1
The information is not filled out in the ipn's properties. I did not think I would have to do this. I really
hoped this information would be passed on to the ipn but apparently it does not. Does this mean that
I will have to set up a separate 2D template for assemblies used in ipn's? How else can I
accomplish this task? It will be very time consuming to retype the properties for every ipn file. It will
also be time consuming for me and others to have to keep the properties up to date in the ipn file.
For example, if I change my assembly I update the revision number in the properties tab. It seems now
that if I use that assembly in an ipn then I will have to update the revision number in that location
as well.

Maybe Neil Monroe can write another "Copy Properties" for ipn's? Does anyone have any suggestions?
Autodesk - can you fix this issue?
Thanks
*Greenfield, Jay
Message 4 of 9 (76 Views)

Re: Title Block Information

11-13-2002 07:22 AM in reply to: mmiller1
You can use Design Assistant to copy the
iProperties from one file to another. It beats retyping all that
stuff.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam file. If I
bring that .iam file
into that template the title block information is
transfered from the 3D model into the title block. Works
great!

I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an .ipn
file and exploded it. This
is still an assembly so I grabbed the above
mentioned 2D drawing template then placed the .ipn of
my assembly into the
2D drawing. This time, the title block information did not get populated?

Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.

Please Help!!!

Mike

*McConnell, Cory
Message 5 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 08:22 AM in reply to: mmiller1
I have my idw templates setup so the assembly properties propagate through
the ipn into the idw. I will look tomorrow at work, and let you know how I
did it.

--
Cory McConnell
BJ Pipeline Inspection
"Sean Dotson" wrote in message
news:75417DA5BDA47FE49007F88A79076E1C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Is the information filled out in the ipn's properties? If not then it
will not fill out the titleblock. Property info (for the most part) does
not propagate from parent to child automatically.
>
> --
> Sean Dotson, PE
> http://www.sdotson.com
> ...sleep is for the weak..
> -----------------------------------------
> "mmiller" wrote in message
news:f123160.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam
file. If I bring that .iam file
> into that template the title block information is transfered from the 3D
model into the title block. Works
> great!
> I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an
.ipn file and exploded it. This
> is still an assembly so I grabbed the above mentioned 2D drawing
template then placed the .ipn of
> my assembly into the 2D drawing. This time, the title block information
did not get populated?
> Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.
>
> Please Help!!!
>
> Mike
>
>
*McConnell, Cory
Message 6 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 08:25 AM in reply to: mmiller1
I just checked my idw, and my title block gets filled from 'model
properties'. works good.

--
Cory McConnell
BJ Pipeline Inspection
"Cory McConnell" wrote in message
news:E9A0D12847CD75E87BAD97694978501B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I have my idw templates setup so the assembly properties propagate through
> the ipn into the idw. I will look tomorrow at work, and let you know how
I
> did it.
>
> --
> Cory McConnell
> BJ Pipeline Inspection
> "Sean Dotson" wrote in message
> news:75417DA5BDA47FE49007F88A79076E1C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Is the information filled out in the ipn's properties? If not then it
> will not fill out the titleblock. Property info (for the most part) does
> not propagate from parent to child automatically.
> >
> > --
> > Sean Dotson, PE
> > http://www.sdotson.com
> > ...sleep is for the weak..
> > -----------------------------------------
> > "mmiller" wrote in message
> news:f123160.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam
> file. If I bring that .iam file
> > into that template the title block information is transfered from the
3D
> model into the title block. Works
> > great!
> > I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an
> .ipn file and exploded it. This
> > is still an assembly so I grabbed the above mentioned 2D drawing
> template then placed the .ipn of
> > my assembly into the 2D drawing. This time, the title block
information
> did not get populated?
> > Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.
> >
> > Please Help!!!
> >
> > Mike
> >
> >
>
>
*Dotson, Sean
Message 7 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 08:48 AM in reply to: mmiller1
I don't deal with presentations too much so I guess I'm wrong....

I'll be darned. It worked. son of a... I didn't know that. What is odd is
that they don't propagate to the IPN itself (the property field is blank)
but they do appear in the titleblock. I stopped after I saw the IPN props
were blank...

Cool Cory, Thanks for the info...

--
____________________
Sean Dotson
http://www.sdotson.com
...sleep is for the weak...
----
"Cory McConnell" wrote in message
news:188FF209A2877414A753FDFCD018316D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I just checked my idw, and my title block gets filled from 'model
> properties'. works good.
>
> --
> Cory McConnell
> BJ Pipeline Inspection
> "Cory McConnell" wrote in message
> news:E9A0D12847CD75E87BAD97694978501B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I have my idw templates setup so the assembly properties propagate
through
> > the ipn into the idw. I will look tomorrow at work, and let you know
how
> I
> > did it.
> >
> > --
> > Cory McConnell
> > BJ Pipeline Inspection
> > "Sean Dotson" wrote in message
> > news:75417DA5BDA47FE49007F88A79076E1C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Is the information filled out in the ipn's properties? If not then it
> > will not fill out the titleblock. Property info (for the most part)
does
> > not propagate from parent to child automatically.
> > >
> > > --
> > > Sean Dotson, PE
> > > http://www.sdotson.com
> > > ...sleep is for the weak..
> > > -----------------------------------------
> > > "mmiller" wrote in message
> > news:f123160.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > I have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an
.iam
> > file. If I bring that .iam file
> > > into that template the title block information is transfered from
the
> 3D
> > model into the title block. Works
> > > great!
> > > I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an
> > .ipn file and exploded it. This
> > > is still an assembly so I grabbed the above mentioned 2D drawing
> > template then placed the .ipn of
> > > my assembly into the 2D drawing. This time, the title block
> information
> > did not get populated?
> > > Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.
> > >
> > > Please Help!!!
> > >
> > > Mike
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
mmiller1
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 8 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 10:53 PM in reply to: mmiller1
Cory,

Please tell me how you accomplished this. Are you using SP1 Beta or something? Do your custom
properties come through too? Mine do not?

Mike
*Bogan, Bill
Message 9 of 9 (76 Views)

Re:

11-14-2002 12:32 AM in reply to: mmiller1
There is also the new properties capability in
the IDW document settings.

The source document can point to your assembly
(not the IPN) and you

can copy the properties from there if you
want.

 

However, as I see it Cory's method works
well.

--
Bill Bogan


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">

You can use Design Assistant to copy the
iProperties from one file to another. It beats retyping all that
stuff.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
have a 2D drawing template set to read the iParameters from an .iam file. If
I bring that .iam file
into that template the title block information is
transfered from the 3D model into the title block. Works
great!

I had this particular assembly that I needed to explode so I made an .ipn
file and exploded it. This
is still an assembly so I grabbed the above
mentioned 2D drawing template then placed the .ipn of
my assembly into
the 2D drawing. This time, the title block information did not get
populated?
Why not? It is the same assembly just in .ipn format.

Please Help!!!

Mike

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.