Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

threads on bolts and rods

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
samuelreed
1723 Views, 5 Replies

threads on bolts and rods

Hello,

I am relatively new to Inventor.I use Inventor 2013.

My question is:

I have created a nut from scratch and used the hole feature to make the thread.I then take the diameter of the threaded hole in the nut and then make the rod the same diameter as the thread size.Is this made correctly or would you create this differently?

I check for interference between nut and rod and there is none.Should there be interference?

Thank you

Samuel

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
JDMather
in reply to: samuelreed

You have created the external thread OD the wrong size.

Examine both of these parts carefully.

You should observe  that there is not a real thread on either one of them - only a cosmetic picture that sort of looks like a thread.

Go to the hardware store and purchase a mating nut and bolt.

You should note a major diameter and minor diameter to the threads of both.

Note that the major diameter of the external thread is greater than the minor diameter (the hole) in the nut.

This hole is called the tap-drill size.  My #1 pet peeve in all of engineering design is when designers do not understand that the tap-drill size IS NOT the same size as the fastener - otherwise there would be no material in which to cut the thread - no material for the mating helix to engage.  I harp on this for 4 years and still my seniors turn in projects with holes the same size as the fastener.  I jump all over people who post here who are getting paid to do this work and make this beginner mistake, and then they get offended.  Better they get offended by me here, than to send a beginner mistake like that to the shop floor.

Let's push for a new law.