Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This is retarded! Why is this a spline in IDW???

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
acad-caveman
1423 Views, 15 Replies

This is retarded! Why is this a spline in IDW???

Guys

Ok, I am new to Inventor. I get that.

What I don't get is why is the drawing of the attached part turns into a spline in the indicated area!

I understand that most of you guys do not have to deal or be concerned with garbage like this, but for us "blacksmiths"

this is just absolutely retarded and creates a whole bunch of extra work!

And while on the subject, is there any way ( or is there any work-in-progress to provide such a way ) to create a 2D drawing

from a part where the outline becomes a single entity geometry?

I mean if we are in 2D, we are actually "falttening" the 3D solid, which in theory should result in a continuous entity, broken only if there is a change in type or direction?

Please don't misunderstand, I'm beginning to like Inventor to do all my drawings. I've all but stopped re-creating the blueprint

provided to me in ACAD and pretty much draw everything in Inventor and then transfer the drawing into Autocad, but stuff like this makes the whole process almost not worth it!

Again, I'm not an engineering firm, I am a jobshop who needs a fair amount of 2D geometry to be used for various purposes. The way IV is working for this purpose is quite hostile at times.

Btw, this is Inventor 2011 Pro.

Thank you.

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
nmunro
in reply to: acad-caveman