Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
knattagh
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
Message 1 of 3 (816 Views)
Accepted Solution

The Selected component has no volume

816 Views, 2 Replies
11-21-2012 11:01 PM

I tried to import an stl file into inventor 2013 and it worked. I now have that ipt file that I ahve attached to this thread. The only problem is that now I cannot manipulate my solid (i.e. put holes in it).

Has anyone run accross this problem or have any idea what needs to be done?

 

Thanks

Khash

Hi Khash,

 

Thanks for your post - you won't be able to perform those solid operations since the .stl is a mesh.

 

There's a plug-in on the Labs site (link below) that will allow you to convert this to a Base feature, if you install that then you should be good to go :smileyhappy:

 

Hope this helps!

Indy

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/inventor_mesh/

 

ConvertToBase

Employee
wilkhui
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 2 of 3 (798 Views)

Re: The Selected component has no volume

11-22-2012 03:57 AM in reply to: knattagh

Hi Khash,

 

Thanks for your post - you won't be able to perform those solid operations since the .stl is a mesh.

 

There's a plug-in on the Labs site (link below) that will allow you to convert this to a Base feature, if you install that then you should be good to go :smileyhappy:

 

Hope this helps!

Indy

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/inventor_mesh/

 

ConvertToBase



Inderjeet Wilkhu
SQA Engineer
Autodesk ShapeManager
Design, Lifecycle and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 3 of 3 (761 Views)

Re: The Selected component has no volume

11-23-2012 01:04 AM in reply to: wilkhui

Hi Khash,

 

Just add one comment, not only STL mesh but also for CATIA V5 cgr mesh data and JT mesh data, this addin (Inventor Mesh Enabler) tool can also convert mesh data to solid or composite.

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Quality Assurance Team

Autodesk, Inc.

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.