Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
GSE_Dan_A
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎10-06-2011
Message 11 of 20 (323 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: Mason-Paul

Or have it make a Recovery Save (similar to when ACAD crashes) I can understand the problems that can arise (Crash during an Assembly, which parts, sub-assemblies, files, etc... does the program save as Recovery?) But there are always solutions to problems, they just have to figure them out!

GSE Consultants Inc.
Windsor, ON. Canada
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,516
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 12 of 20 (301 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: Mason-Paul

That's definately the AutoDesk way.

Don't fix the crashes, just include an autosave feature!

 

I'd like to point out, by the way, that I finally got around to doing a forum search to see why I can't reorder component patterns. I wish I could say I was surprised by the answer. But why fix a basic thing like that when you could just implement an infinately more useful iCloud?!

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 2,289
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 13 of 20 (285 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: mrattray

Hi! Did Inventor hang or crash? Do you have the files that can reproduce this behavior? If so, please send them to me and I would like to try it on my machine.

Many thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Senior Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 14 of 20 (270 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Mason-Paul

OMG - NO!!!!!! No to Autosave in Inventor (or any other parametric modeler). Last thing I want to have the CAD program do is save in the middle of me trying to design something, not knowing if that's the path I want to take or not.

 

I'd much rather risk the crash than have an autosave!

Inventor is used as a design tool, thus autosave would be a killer during the designing stages.

Just save your files when you reach a specific point and it's the result you want.

 

But then again, you could always give up Inventor and use Solidworks, afterall I hear it butters your toast for you each morning...seriously, just as the two guys I just had this type of discussion with.....ugh. SW must have some very good flavored Kool-Aid they hand out to their users.

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 15 of 20 (269 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: GSE_Dan_A

Dan,

 

If I recall, if Inventor does crash you can access the file in the "old versions" folder (or something along those lines) and there you'll find the file as it was right before the crash. Inventor does seem to save the file when a crash happens....or it seemed to at some point.

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 16 of 20 (254 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-04-2012 07:45 PM in reply to: GSE_Dan_A

(When I hit Reply and have to log in the reply is always to the post at the top of the page with multiple page threads, luckily this is the other post that my reply will be relevant to)

 

It would have to be a recovery save because as (now I don't know who I was really trying to reply to) said before (or would that be later?) sometimes I'm messing around with a design and just want to see what something would look like if I tried doing something a little different - an autosave could end up being worse than a crash. So maybe in addition to the old versions folder there would be an autosave folder that would work the same way, or something.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,516
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 17 of 20 (212 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-07-2012 05:03 AM in reply to: johnsonshiue

It was a hang that it refused to come out of, after waiting several minutes I killed the process and moved on with my life.

I have the files but when I came in the next morning and pulled those files back up I went through the same modeling steps as before (the best I could remember) and IV did not hang or crash. This seems to be a completely random occurence in that I can't find any common denominator between what I'm doing each time it crashes/hangs.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
KF090
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Message 18 of 20 (202 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-07-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

I agree with CDS.  If I'm in the middle of something heavy I'd rather it NOT try to autosave.

 

Ever since I started using AutoCAD back in 1992 I've learned to save often.  So I save in between commands, multiple times throughout a string of commands, etc.

 

I do that with all software that I use, not just AutoDesk software.  Even if they use autosave I would still manually save my work regularly.

 


CelticDesignServices wrote:

OMG - NO!!!!!! No to Autosave in Inventor (or any other parametric modeler). Last thing I want to have the CAD program do is save in the middle of me trying to design something, not knowing if that's the path I want to take or not.

 

I'd much rather risk the crash than have an autosave!

Inventor is used as a design tool, thus autosave would be a killer during the designing stages.

Just save your files when you reach a specific point and it's the result you want.

 

But then again, you could always give up Inventor and use Solidworks, afterall I hear it butters your toast for you each morning...seriously, just as the two guys I just had this type of discussion with.....ugh. SW must have some very good flavored Kool-Aid they hand out to their users.


 

Valued Mentor
GSE_Dan_A
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎10-06-2011
Message 19 of 20 (197 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-07-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: GSE_Dan_A

I understand the problem with the Autosave and that you may not want to continue from the point of crashing, that is why when it does Autosave (forexample in ACAD) it saves it has (file name)_recovery.  So you have the option of loading up the original file (file last saved before the crash) or the new file (point at which your file crashed).  Giving you the option to continue or to revert back. 

GSE Consultants Inc.
Windsor, ON. Canada
Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 20 of 20 (156 Views)

Re: Thank you AutoDesk.

05-07-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: GSE_Dan_A

The Autosave feature in my eyes is a big NO NO. The _recovery is a good idea, but I still use the "Old Versions" as a "Poor man's" Vault. (Don't have the OS to run it in the office. :smileysad: So Old versions are a god send.)

 

I mentioned that saving often reduces crashes/hangs to almost zero, my take on it is that UNDO has something to do with it, when you save it must clean out something. I also find that using undo on a complex instruction will cause a hang.

 

The one thing that does get me is I have one or two drawings that worked fine albeit complex, but will not open anymore, the only way to open them is to defer updates, the second I update the drawing BANG, all gone.

 

I ran an excercise of deleting individual views before updating, but I ran out of time before finding the ofending view, so the exercise is currently incomplete...


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!