Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
rimo625
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎03-12-2004
Message 1 of 6 (37 Views)

Table Style?

37 Views, 5 Replies
05-16-2006 07:35 AM
IV11,
Tables.
What's the purpose of having a table Style if the table Feature does Not directly follow it?

When I click the Table Button.. How come there is NO selection for which table style i want to place?
Sure i can click the Dropdown on the toolbar..
But why isn't that choice available right in the table dialog?

Also... BIG thing..
I made a Nice 6 column Table style..
When i click Table Button.. It comes up and says 4 columns, 10 rows..
So i click OK.. then change the Style dropdown to MY table (With 6 columns)
Then Place the Table..
Sure enough, The Tabl'es Title is right.
Wait a minute.. There are only 4 columns!!
What in the? It Dropped off the last 2 columns..
Well, I dbl click the truncated table.
Edit dialog comes up..
I click Column Chooser (to Replace the 2 missing columns)
What ? the 2 columns are NOT even there!!! Gone!!
So I go to style editor.
Well.. the table style shows 6 count'em 6 columns..
The Table WITH that style only has 4 columns.

Now.. seems that when I initially click the Table Button.
I must first pick How many Columns etc...
Then all 6 show up.

That just makes NO sense...
Why Even have Table style is it's not going to follow it?

If the Table Style has 6 columns.. The Table should have 6 columns... Without having to manually Set the number of columns EVERY time.

Tables: Great Feature!!!
I really like the Concept.. Just needs a wee bit o tuning...
*Andrew Faix \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 6 (37 Views)

Re: Table Style?

05-16-2006 07:50 AM in reply to: rimo625
There is no command dialog that lets you select a style outside of the
drop-down menu, tables included. As you've indicated, that's what the
dropdown menu on the toolbar is for. Not saying it's good or bad, just
consistent.

(actually, there is one exception to that rule, kudos if you can identify it
:smileywink:)

The issue with the number of columns changing on changing the style on the
drop-down I've verified, and will look into it.

Why even have a table style? Granted, we seem to have some issues with the
NUMBER of columns, but the style still does a pretty darn good job of
setting the column width, the font, the line formatting, the title display,
the unit formatting.....

--
Andrew Faix
Product Designer - Inventor Drawing Manager
Autodesk


wrote in message news:5175924@discussion.autodesk.com...
IV11,
Tables.
What's the purpose of having a table Style if the table Feature does Not
directly follow it?

When I click the Table Button.. How come there is NO selection for which
table style i want to place?
Sure i can click the Dropdown on the toolbar..
But why isn't that choice available right in the table dialog?

Also... BIG thing..
I made a Nice 6 column Table style..
When i click Table Button.. It comes up and says 4 columns, 10 rows..
So i click OK.. then change the Style dropdown to MY table (With 6 columns)
Then Place the Table..
Sure enough, The Tabl'es Title is right.
Wait a minute.. There are only 4 columns!!
What in the? It Dropped off the last 2 columns..
Well, I dbl click the truncated table.
Edit dialog comes up..
I click Column Chooser (to Replace the 2 missing columns)
What ? the 2 columns are NOT even there!!! Gone!!
So I go to style editor.
Well.. the table style shows 6 count'em 6 columns..
The Table WITH that style only has 4 columns.

Now.. seems that when I initially click the Table Button.
I must first pick How many Columns etc...
Then all 6 show up.

That just makes NO sense...
Why Even have Table style is it's not going to follow it?

If the Table Style has 6 columns.. The Table should have 6 columns...
Without having to manually Set the number of columns EVERY time.

Tables: Great Feature!!!
I really like the Concept.. Just needs a wee bit o tuning...
Distinguished Contributor
rimo625
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎03-12-2004
Message 3 of 6 (37 Views)

Re: Table Style?

05-16-2006 07:57 AM in reply to: rimo625
Thanks for checking it out Andrew..
As far as Style thingy goes.. Formatting etc..
Yep, i do agree with you..
I Like it a lot!.. (cept for the Number issue)

Ps. Hole tags?

Thanks Again Andrew
*Andrew Faix \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 6 (37 Views)

Re: Table Style?

05-16-2006 08:06 AM in reply to: rimo625
Hole tags? Didn't we fix those for you already?

--
Andrew Faix
Product Designer - Inventor Drawing Manager
Autodesk
wrote in message news:5175954@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for checking it out Andrew..
As far as Style thingy goes.. Formatting etc..
Yep, i do agree with you..
I Like it a lot!.. (cept for the Number issue)

Ps. Hole tags?

Thanks Again Andrew
Distinguished Contributor
rimo625
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎03-12-2004
Message 5 of 6 (37 Views)

Re: Table Style?

05-16-2006 08:26 AM in reply to: rimo625
LoL..
Yeah, hole tag leaders work GREAT now!!!!!
Thanks again for that!!!!

I was referrring to the exception you mention..
and hole tags do Not seem to go by the Style indicated / selected in the dropdown.

Ex. I click Hole table. I select my "Hole Callout" hole table Style in the dropdown..
Place table.. Select one of It's tags.. the Style dropdown shows the Holetag as my "General Dimension" Style..
"Hole Callout" was the Style selected in the Dropdown..
"General Dimension" is the Style the tag is on..

So wouldn't that classify as an exception to the "Dropdown Rule" ?
Anyhow,
Thanks again for verifying The Column count thing..
I really Appriciate it.
*Dan Szymanski \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 6 (37 Views)

Re: Table Style?

05-16-2006 01:54 PM in reply to: rimo625
Rimo625,

Like Andrew, I too have reproduced the "Number issue" you reported in
generic tables styles. I have logged this with the Inventor Development
team. Thanks for the feedback and reporting the drop down issue.

Regards,
Dan Szymanski
Inventor QA
Autodesk, Inc.

wrote in message news:5175954@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for checking it out Andrew..
As far as Style thingy goes.. Formatting etc..
Yep, i do agree with you..
I Like it a lot!.. (cept for the Number issue)

Ps. Hole tags?

Thanks Again Andrew
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.