Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surfacing Difficulties

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Cadmanto
914 Views, 8 Replies

Surfacing Difficulties

I am new to surfacing in Inventor.  I have gotten the attached part to this point.

What I am trying to do (to no avail) is close the gab as shown below.

surface.JPG

I tried doing a patch, but because the area is apparently not a completely enclosed loop it is not working.  I tried revolving a surface that intersects the existing, but I cannot get that to trim.

I would greatly appreciate any advise on how to resolve this.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
(Colossians 3:23-25)

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
stevec781
in reply to: Cadmanto

You should normally be able to just loft a new surface between the edges (create 3d sketches and loft between them as selecting surface edges is buggy) but your composite geometry has an overlap.  Zoom right in to see.

Capture.JPG

The work around is to trim the spigot back a bit to get rid of the overlap, and then create the loft.  I usually offset the surfaces with 0 offset just to keep it more stable.

Message 3 of 9
Cadmanto
in reply to: stevec781

Thanks Steve.

Coming from Solidworks, I am struggling a bit with the Inventor surfacing tools.

I do see there is an overlap like you pointed out, but I am still struggling to get these

surfaces trimmed.  I have sucessfully thickened the surfaces and still have the void.

I am now going to try and fill the gap within the solid geometry and forget the surfacing

for this portion.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden

Message 4 of 9
Cadmanto
in reply to: stevec781

Steve,

After thickening the part I was able to create a surface within the void.

thicken.JPG