Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
27 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2004
Post 1 of 22

surface stitch part and mass properties

42 Views, 21 Replies
11-12-2004 07:33 AM
i have a part that was created in rhino, and exported as a 143 iges, and i have it stitched together in dwg and ipt formats. however, my problem is that i need to dimension the complex part. i have been trying to get drawing views for the part, but when i select the ipt file for a base view, it says "cannot create drawing views for empty model documents."
as far as i am aware, the part is completely stitched together as a solid (the part has grey, opaque faces. no transparencies), but the mass and volume properties say that it has no mass or volume.

i hope someone can help me.
thanks
*Shekar Subrahmanyam[Autodesk]
Post 2 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 10:19 AM in reply to: Lisztman
I suspect something has gone wrong in the stitch and there are gaps which means its still a surface. You could try thickening it with the Quilt option and see if it's recognizes it as a surface? Posting the file will help us to take a look. Thanks. Shekar "Lisztman" wrote in message news:18446079.1100273644981.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > i have a part that was created in rhino, and exported as a 143 iges, and i have it stitched together in dwg and ipt formats. however, my problem is that i need to dimension the complex part. i have been trying to get drawing views for the part, but when i select the ipt file for a base view, it says "cannot create drawing views for empty model documents." > as far as i am aware, the part is completely stitched together as a solid (the part has grey, opaque faces. no transparencies), but the mass and volume properties say that it has no mass or volume. > > i hope someone can help me. > thanks
Distinguished Contributor
1,369 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-28-2003
Post 3 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:12 AM in reply to: Lisztman
I have had this happen in the past also.
My solution has been to create the views in MDT from the data and dim.

Don't know if this is an option for you or not.
Active Contributor
27 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2004
Post 4 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:16 AM in reply to: Lisztman
i tried the thicken option. it seemed to have been recognized as a quilt(i think), but it said that there was a "modeling failure while offestting surface. try using edit thicken to change the offset." im not quite sure what i this means for me.

however, i cannot post the file because, even zipped, it is 1.26 megabytes.

also, i can right click on the part labeled "base1" and i have the option of "edit solid." so i further suspect that it is a solid.

also, i cant seem to get it in the form of an iges. the logs say that the "Model specified to be formatted does not contain any entities."

thanks again.
*Jeff Howard
Post 5 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:25 AM in reply to: Lisztman
> ..... the part is completely stitched together as a solid > (the part has grey, opaque faces. no transparencies), > but the mass and volume properties say that it has no > mass or volume. (As Shekar said) it would be best if you could post the part. I've seen this a few times. Sometimes a Rebuild All would cure it. Sometimes it was necessary to pick a simple to re-create face, delete it (Delete Face), create a new surface and stitch it in. I've also seen parts stitch up with inverted normals (surface normals on the inside of the part) and calculating the infinite volume is tough on IV . It's visually detectable. The part will look odd because you are actually looking thru near side faces (back side not rendered) at a face on the opposite side of the part. Delete Face, stitch in a new one, again. A quick and easy way that sometimes works; simply export as .stp or .sat and read the export back in. (I have resorted to importing IGES from Rhino (prefer type 144) and stitching when a STEP wouldn't work well, but generally if you will model with a 1e-4 inch or equivealent tolerance in Rhino, join everything and export STEP it will give about as good a results as can be expected. Good luck with it.)
*Jeff Howard
Post 6 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:30 AM in reply to: Lisztman
> however, i cannot post the file because, even zipped, it is 1.26 megabytes. Delete the Construction folder, pull the End of Part marker (Stop sign) up above the base feature and save. Zip and it might make the 1 MB posting limit.
Distinguished Contributor
4,994 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Post 7 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:32 AM in reply to: Lisztman
>i cannot post the file because, even zipped, it is 1.26 megabytes.

Can you post some pictures.
Is the original iges file over 1 meg zipped?
Active Contributor
27 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2004
Post 8 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:35 AM in reply to: Lisztman
well, i would actually PREFER to use MDT. however, i have a problem there too (which is on the MDT forum, labeled "dimensioning a stitched") in a nutshell, my problem is that i cant get the dimensioning functions to catch onto the points that i want it to.
and finally, one more problem that i am having with MDT is when i make side views of the part. basically, it cannot make a proper profile because one of the surfaces is really screwy. dont know what to do. i will attach a picture of what i am talking about.

Trevor
Active Contributor
27 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2004
Post 9 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:39 AM in reply to: Lisztman
WOW! thats an awesome trick. thanks.

here is the ipt file
Distinguished Contributor
4,994 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Post 10 of 22

Re: surface stitch part and mass properties

11-12-2004 11:47 AM in reply to: Lisztman
When you delete a face the part converts to a surface as indicated by the icon above the origin in the browser. Drag the EOP marker just above the delete face and you will see it change to a solid block.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!