Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
albert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-11-2006
Message 1 of 6 (2,343 Views)
Accepted Solution

sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

2343 Views, 5 Replies
12-21-2012 08:45 AM

I am creating a drawing of an assembly and I want one sub assembly within the main assembly to have it parts broken down (first level) in the main BOM and I can't figure out how to do it.

 

The sub assembly is a fixture that places parts in the main assembly; these parts and placements are the same throughout many different main assemblies so I figured, hey lets just put them all in the fixture and use it so I don't have to place every single component every time.....this works great except the BOM just shows one part number (the fixture part number) I could do a separate view but this will just confuse the guys in the shop.

 

thanks for any ideas

 

 

You need to set your sub assembly bomstructure to phantom this way the assembly it self will not show up but the piece parts that it is composed of.

 

To do this open you sub assembly and go in to your tools > document settings > Bill of Materials

 

From this point change your default bom structure to phantom instead of normal.

 

Hope this is what you needed.

New Member
brojefj001
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Message 2 of 6 (2,338 Views)

Re: sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

12-21-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: albert

You need to set your sub assembly bomstructure to phantom this way the assembly it self will not show up but the piece parts that it is composed of.

 

To do this open you sub assembly and go in to your tools > document settings > Bill of Materials

 

From this point change your default bom structure to phantom instead of normal.

 

Hope this is what you needed.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,217
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (2,323 Views)

Re: sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

12-21-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: albert

Sounds like you want to list the parts for a desired sub-assembly along with the parts for the main assembly. Just open your drawing, select the BOM list, RMB and select the "Edit Parts List", then click on the + for the desired sub-assembly you wish to expand.

 

If it is item 4, then all the parts in that assembly with be added as 4.1, 4.2, 4.3 and so on in your drawing. 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Active Contributor
albert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-11-2006
Message 4 of 6 (2,319 Views)

Re: sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

12-21-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: brojefj001

Sweet, that did it! thanks!

Active Contributor
albert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-11-2006
Message 5 of 6 (2,236 Views)

Re: sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: brojefj001
That's it...thank you so much!
Active Contributor
cbell1007
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 6 of 6 (1,968 Views)

Re: sub assembly BOM Inventor 2013 sp 1

06-14-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: albert

I use inventor Pro 2012. Where is this + sign you speak of. I need to expand  each of the 5 assemblies you see in my parts list table. Am I using the wrong kind of table?

 

I can see I need a Bill of materials tutorial. Any imformation you have is appreciated.

 

screen shot

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.