Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 1 of 29 (586 Views)
Accepted Solution

Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

586 Views, 28 Replies
07-27-2012 07:26 AM

I have created a few new structural parts that I am in the process of publishing to the content center.

I got one of them in and have it working very well except for one item.  If I place this structural piece

into an assembly as a stand alone part just selecting the length and the material as the key inputs,

it shows the proper length in the part number and the description just fine.  If I insert this same structural

piece in a skeleton using the frame generator, then the length that shows up in the description is the default

one that the part was originally created to.  How do I get the length to show up in the frame BOM correctly when parts are created using the frame generator?

This works using the structural members out of the box.

 

LENGTH.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 29 (573 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I am wondering if it has something to do with the G_L parameter, yet I can't seem to place my finger on it.

Still welcome some feedback on this.

PARAMETER.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 29 (544 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

After setting the description in the CC editor to look like this

PL.JPG

It gives me thewse results when creating a frame using the frame generator.

PL.JPG

Yet with the same settings if I just insert these parts and specify a specific length when inserting them from CC

I get this.

PL.JPG

Which is what I am looking for from the frame generator to give me the specific lengths based off of the skeleton and trimming.  I can do this very same sequence using an out of the box structural piece from CC and the BOM will show the correct length when using the frame generator.

Why is this happening with my published structural member?  What am I missing?

Anyone?

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 4 of 29 (540 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi  Cadmanto,

 

Is the same issue? :

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/STRUCTURAL-AUTHORING-TO-CC-WITH-G-L-NOT-WORKING/m-p/...

 

Or maybe this:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Authoring-Content-Center-Parts-specify-length-on-ins...

 

I don't have time to step through it to see exactly what you're seeing, but I have a fuzzy memory of something similar being worked out on this forum in the past, so you might find it in a search if these links don't help.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 5 of 29 (536 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

That sounds like the same issue, but the difference I can see is he was using 2011 and I am using 2012.

Also, he could not get it to update in either an assembly or a frame generator, where as I can get it to update in an assembly, just not the frame generator.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 29 (510 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 04:37 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Ok, the weekend is past and it is a new week.  With that I am hoping some fresh sets of eyes will give this thread a clearer, different approach that might ultimately lead to a solution.  :smileyhappy:

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Product Support
alessandro.gasso
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 7 of 29 (498 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi Scott,

 

In this thread (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Custom-Profile-in-frame-generator/td-p/3507830 ), I‘ve suggested the steps of the post below.

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/04/include-the-length-from-the-steel-shape-pr...

 

If the post doesn’t help, check you have followed the steps of the article below for publishing your custom frames.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12193815&linkID=9242016

 

Kind regards,

Alessandro



Alessandro Gasso
Product Support Technical Lead
MFG - Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Mentor
pauldoubet
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 8 of 29 (495 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 07:26 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Scott,

 

I have a UniStrut in my CC that I published from the iPart on CBliss.com and I don't have any of the problems you mentioned. However I can't recall using it with Frame Generator. The one thing you are doing incorrectly for Frame Generator is using the B_L parameter for length. The B_L is for the Base Length before any FG end treatments or length adjustments. The correct parameter to use is the G_L for Geometric Length. I could export and send you the part I have if you want to try using it with FG.

 

Take a look at the following screen captures.

 

Hope this helps, Paul

 

7-30-2012 9-11-49 AM.png

 

 

7-30-2012 9-08-30 AM.png

 

 

 

7-30-2012 9-08-38 AM.png

 

7-30-2012 9-09-11 AM.png

 

7-30-2012 9-09-16 AM.png

 

 

7-30-2012 9-10-13 AM.png

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 9 of 29 (476 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

Alessandro,

Thank you so much for the links.  In trying to follow them I have some questions.

First, is the "STOCKNUMBER" as shown here in the one link you provided supposed to be a new colum in the CC editor?  stock.JPG

If so what should the values be for this?  I have two members to this table.

 

Next, with my issue being trying to get the member length to update in the description, can it be assemed that the "Demo_For_Blog" column property used in the one link you provided be what would be called my "Description" ?

 

Also, how does what you typed here in your one response tie in with what I typed about above regarding the other link?

What column property is this tied into?

value.JPG

 Is it also fair to say that these parameters you are speaking of in these threads (G_L) should be selected from this list and thus imported upon publishing the part?

list.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 10 of 29 (476 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: pauldoubet

Thanks Paul.

The reason I went to the B_L was because after trying the G_L which didn't work, I decided to try and mimic one of the CC existing structural members (ANSI "W" Beam) and that is how they set there's up and it does work.

Which further led me to believe that there was some code I w3as either missing and couldn't see or over looking the obvious. 

I am definately not having any issues getting my Unistrut members into the CC and using them as you described in just inserting them, but it is the frame generator that is messings things up.  I will say that your screen shot of the different variations brings up a point that I need to ask.  Like I have said I have two members (SS and Galvanized versions) and these are represented as iparts.  When I publish these to CC and then use the frame generator to access them, the selections come up as "unnamed member 1" and "unnamed member 2".  How do I get these to show up with the correct material names instead?

 

I am going to try Alessandro's suggestion to see if that gives me anything more then what I currently have.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.