Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 1 of 29 (627 Views)
Accepted Solution

Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

627 Views, 28 Replies
07-27-2012 07:26 AM

I have created a few new structural parts that I am in the process of publishing to the content center.

I got one of them in and have it working very well except for one item.  If I place this structural piece

into an assembly as a stand alone part just selecting the length and the material as the key inputs,

it shows the proper length in the part number and the description just fine.  If I insert this same structural

piece in a skeleton using the frame generator, then the length that shows up in the description is the default

one that the part was originally created to.  How do I get the length to show up in the frame BOM correctly when parts are created using the frame generator?

This works using the structural members out of the box.

 

LENGTH.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Hi Scott,

 

In this thread (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Custom-Profile-in-frame-generator/td-p/3507830 ), I‘ve suggested the steps of the post below.

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/04/include-the-length-from-the-steel-shape-profile-in-a-custom-property.html

 

If the post doesn’t help, check you have followed the steps of the article below for publishing your custom frames.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12193815&linkID=9242016

 

Kind regards,

Alessandro

Hi Scott,

 

About the first question, if you have followed, for instance, the steps from the article below for publishing your custom frame, the column Stock Number should be already available in the Family Table.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12193815&linkID=9242016

 

stock1.png

 

So, if you want to add it to the expression of another column, you should be able to select it from the list, as in the image below.

 

stock2.png

 

By the way, the key point for getting the frame length in the property is to start the expression with “=” and include in the expression “<G_L>”.

The Stock Number in my post it was just an example.

 

About the second question, you can read in the post below how to define the Description column.

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/01/part-number-and-description-always-in-synch-for-frames.html

 

Of course, if you want to display the frame length in the Description, you need, once again start the expression with “=” and include in the expression “<G_L>”, like in the other post.

 

I’m not sure I’ve understood the third question, but if you are talking about the number "3842992425", you can disregard it. This was a specific requirement of that user.

Instead, if you meant something different, please, provide me more details.

 

About the last question, the parameter <G_L> has to be written manually, as you can see in the video of the post (http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/04/include-the-length-from-the-steel-shape-profile-in-a-custom-property.html ).

If you didn’t watch it yet, please, do it.

 

After you have done that, inserting the frame published (once again) following the steps of the article http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12193815&linkID=9242016 , the parameter G_L with its value will be generated in the file and the value displayed in the property.

 

I hope I’ve clarified your doubts.

If not, please, let me know.

 

Kind regards,

Ale

Hi Scott,

 

I’m glad I could be helpful.

 

About your last question, I don’t think you need to republish the frame.

For the custom frames in the Size drop-down menu you should see the values of the column you have defined in the family table as column key.

 

key.png

 

size.png

 

So, you just need to edit the Family Table and define as keys the columns you need for displaying their values in the Size drop-down menu.

 

I hope it helps.

 

Kind regards,

Ale

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 29 (614 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I am wondering if it has something to do with the G_L parameter, yet I can't seem to place my finger on it.

Still welcome some feedback on this.

PARAMETER.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 29 (585 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

After setting the description in the CC editor to look like this

PL.JPG

It gives me thewse results when creating a frame using the frame generator.

PL.JPG

Yet with the same settings if I just insert these parts and specify a specific length when inserting them from CC

I get this.

PL.JPG

Which is what I am looking for from the frame generator to give me the specific lengths based off of the skeleton and trimming.  I can do this very same sequence using an out of the box structural piece from CC and the BOM will show the correct length when using the frame generator.

Why is this happening with my published structural member?  What am I missing?

Anyone?

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,987
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 4 of 29 (581 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi  Cadmanto,

 

Is the same issue? :

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/STRUCTURAL-AUTHORING-TO-CC-WITH-G-L-NOT-WORKING/m-p/...

 

Or maybe this:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Authoring-Content-Center-Parts-specify-length-on-ins...

 

I don't have time to step through it to see exactly what you're seeing, but I have a fuzzy memory of something similar being worked out on this forum in the past, so you might find it in a search if these links don't help.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 5 of 29 (577 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-27-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

That sounds like the same issue, but the difference I can see is he was using 2011 and I am using 2012.

Also, he could not get it to update in either an assembly or a frame generator, where as I can get it to update in an assembly, just not the frame generator.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 29 (551 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 04:37 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Ok, the weekend is past and it is a new week.  With that I am hoping some fresh sets of eyes will give this thread a clearer, different approach that might ultimately lead to a solution.  :smileyhappy:

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Product Support
alessandro.gasso
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 7 of 29 (539 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi Scott,

 

In this thread (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Custom-Profile-in-frame-generator/td-p/3507830 ), I‘ve suggested the steps of the post below.

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/04/include-the-length-from-the-steel-shape-pr...

 

If the post doesn’t help, check you have followed the steps of the article below for publishing your custom frames.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12193815&linkID=9242016

 

Kind regards,

Alessandro



Alessandro Gasso
Product Support Technical Lead
MFG - Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Mentor
pauldoubet
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 8 of 29 (536 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 07:26 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Scott,

 

I have a UniStrut in my CC that I published from the iPart on CBliss.com and I don't have any of the problems you mentioned. However I can't recall using it with Frame Generator. The one thing you are doing incorrectly for Frame Generator is using the B_L parameter for length. The B_L is for the Base Length before any FG end treatments or length adjustments. The correct parameter to use is the G_L for Geometric Length. I could export and send you the part I have if you want to try using it with FG.

 

Take a look at the following screen captures.

 

Hope this helps, Paul

 

7-30-2012 9-11-49 AM.png

 

 

7-30-2012 9-08-30 AM.png

 

 

 

7-30-2012 9-08-38 AM.png

 

7-30-2012 9-09-11 AM.png

 

7-30-2012 9-09-16 AM.png

 

 

7-30-2012 9-10-13 AM.png

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 9 of 29 (517 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

Alessandro,

Thank you so much for the links.  In trying to follow them I have some questions.

First, is the "STOCKNUMBER" as shown here in the one link you provided supposed to be a new colum in the CC editor?  stock.JPG

If so what should the values be for this?  I have two members to this table.

 

Next, with my issue being trying to get the member length to update in the description, can it be assemed that the "Demo_For_Blog" column property used in the one link you provided be what would be called my "Description" ?

 

Also, how does what you typed here in your one response tie in with what I typed about above regarding the other link?

What column property is this tied into?

value.JPG

 Is it also fair to say that these parameters you are speaking of in these threads (G_L) should be selected from this list and thus imported upon publishing the part?

list.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 10 of 29 (517 Views)

Re: Structural Member Lengths in Frame Generator

07-30-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: pauldoubet

Thanks Paul.

The reason I went to the B_L was because after trying the G_L which didn't work, I decided to try and mimic one of the CC existing structural members (ANSI "W" Beam) and that is how they set there's up and it does work.

Which further led me to believe that there was some code I w3as either missing and couldn't see or over looking the obvious. 

I am definately not having any issues getting my Unistrut members into the CC and using them as you described in just inserting them, but it is the frame generator that is messings things up.  I will say that your screen shot of the different variations brings up a point that I need to ask.  Like I have said I have two members (SS and Galvanized versions) and these are represented as iparts.  When I publish these to CC and then use the frame generator to access them, the selections come up as "unnamed member 1" and "unnamed member 2".  How do I get these to show up with the correct material names instead?

 

I am going to try Alessandro's suggestion to see if that gives me anything more then what I currently have.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!