Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
indalkar.dattatray
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
Message 1 of 9 (549 Views)
Accepted Solution

Strange problem

549 Views, 8 Replies
06-19-2012 09:13 PM

Dear All,

I am facing problem in creating part in top down assly.

Find attachment.

I first part as pipe having dim 300 mm.In assly I select create option and made sketch having diameter 100 circle . I have extrude this circle up to the wall of 1 st component . I select to option but surface of 1 st component not getting selected.

 

If I select 1 st part rectangular shape, that case 2 part extrude using same concept. (# ref 2 attachment)

 

Pls help.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Datta Indalkar

With Warm Regards,
Datta Indalkar.

 

With Warm Regards,
Datta Indalkar.

This is not a strange problem - done all the time.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Strange-problem/td-p/3511308

Hello Datta,

Firstly I am going to explain you, why Inventor is behaving like this.

  1. 1.       If you try create your first part as rectangular and second part as cylinder using same workflow as you described, Inventor will pick top surface of rectangular for “TO” selection in Extrude dialog box in part 2. And you will not face any problem.
  2. 2.       Reason for that is when you will try to create extrusion using “TO” selection inventor will automatically make a plane on face, which you will pick for “TO” selection (See attached image). As in this case you are selecting top face of rectangular body, which is planner. So inventor will make a plane on that.
  3. 3.       Now if you have your fist part as a cylinder. So face of cylinder is not planner. Inventor need a plaaner face for making a plane.So inventor is not recognizing any face to make a plane. For this reason you are facing problem.
  4. 4.       I think this is as designed.

I have a workaround for you in this case. Follow below mentioned steps:

  1. 1.       Create first part as a cylinder
  2. 2.       Create second part as cylinder also. But before you extrude your sketch select “ Copy Object”from 3D Model Tab. > select body of part 1 in dialog box > and select surface as output in dialog box. > hit ok.
  3. 3.       Now try to extrude your second part with “TO” selection in Extrude dialog box. It will work.
  4. 4.       Later you can turn off visibility of surface you had created in step2.

Let me know if more help is need

 

Thank you,

Maulik Patel

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 9 (491 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-20-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

I'm not sure what you're trying to do. Attach your parts.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Active Contributor
indalkar.dattatray
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
Message 3 of 9 (424 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-21-2012 10:55 PM in reply to: mrattray

Dear mrattray,

Thanks for showing interest in problem.

 

1. I have created a part naming cylinder. I am in assly mode.

2. I have to create another part naming hollow cylinder.( attachment no-1) I select create option for the same.

3. For that I create a plane 500 mm offset from main plain and I entered in sketch for hollow cylinder.                               (# attachment no-3).

4.  I made  sketch on selected plain.( #  Attachment No-2)

 

5. I said finish sketch. 

6. Now I have to extrude this hollow cylinder to up to my part no 1 that is Cylinder. So I select extends ' TO '. Then I am trying to select Cylinder's surface as reference  But the  surface is not getting selected. ( find attachment  no 3)

 

  So I am unable to extrude this hollow cylinder up to main cylinder.

 

( The 1 st part is shell of pressure vessel and hollow part is nozzle pipe on the pressure vessel shell. )

 

 

 

I hope you will  understand what I have make.  Pls help me.

Thanks and Regards,

Datta Indalkar

 

With Warm Regards,
Datta Indalkar.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,253
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 9 (404 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-22-2012 04:35 AM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

This is not a strange problem - done all the time.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Strange-problem/td-p/3511308

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
maulik_patel
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-21-2012
Message 5 of 9 (373 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-22-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

Hello Datta,

Firstly I am going to explain you, why Inventor is behaving like this.

  1. 1.       If you try create your first part as rectangular and second part as cylinder using same workflow as you described, Inventor will pick top surface of rectangular for “TO” selection in Extrude dialog box in part 2. And you will not face any problem.
  2. 2.       Reason for that is when you will try to create extrusion using “TO” selection inventor will automatically make a plane on face, which you will pick for “TO” selection (See attached image). As in this case you are selecting top face of rectangular body, which is planner. So inventor will make a plane on that.
  3. 3.       Now if you have your fist part as a cylinder. So face of cylinder is not planner. Inventor need a plaaner face for making a plane.So inventor is not recognizing any face to make a plane. For this reason you are facing problem.
  4. 4.       I think this is as designed.

I have a workaround for you in this case. Follow below mentioned steps:

  1. 1.       Create first part as a cylinder
  2. 2.       Create second part as cylinder also. But before you extrude your sketch select “ Copy Object”from 3D Model Tab. > select body of part 1 in dialog box > and select surface as output in dialog box. > hit ok.
  3. 3.       Now try to extrude your second part with “TO” selection in Extrude dialog box. It will work.
  4. 4.       Later you can turn off visibility of surface you had created in step2.

Let me know if more help is need

 

Thank you,

Maulik Patel



Maulik R Patel (maulikr.patel@autodesk.com)
SQA Engineer, Inventor
Manufacturing Group
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
indalkar.dattatray
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
Message 6 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-22-2012 09:03 PM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

Dear Sir,

 

Thank you very much for your kind replay.

It is working.

Like this problem I have one more problem naming finish sketch by my name if you could answer that question I will be very obliged.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Datta Indalkar.

With Warm Regards,
Datta Indalkar.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,253
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (302 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-23-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

Click twice slowly on the sketch name.  You can now edit it.  (sometimes click F2 works, but I simply slow double click)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
indalkar.dattatray
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
Message 8 of 9 (241 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-24-2012 09:03 PM in reply to: JDMather

Dear sir,

 

I not getting what you have to say.

Will you pls explain with some images?

 

I want overall size of part in bom ( 200 x 100 x 20 ). ( # ref attachment)

I am not intrested writting those value in iproperties.

 

Software itself should choose overall size of part and put into the part list.

 

Will it be possible by customization of software ?

 

Thanks and Regards,

Datta indalkar

 

With Warm Regards,
Datta Indalkar.
Employee
maulik_patel
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-21-2012
Message 9 of 9 (202 Views)

Re: Strange problem

06-25-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: indalkar.dattatray

Hello Datta,

 

Can you send me details for that? My email address is maulikr.patel@autodesk.com

 

Thannk you,

Maulik Patel

 

 



Maulik R Patel (maulikr.patel@autodesk.com)
SQA Engineer, Inventor
Manufacturing Group
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.