Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,254
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 11 of 15 (378 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

07-15-2011 03:54 AM in reply to: grv19191

 


grv19191 wrote:

Hi,

I am having problems with saving some surfaces as STL in solidworks. Please help me with how can i save as stl in solidworks.

Thanks


You should have started a new thread on this, and perhaps on their user forum (what happened - couldn't anyone on that forum answer your question?
Attach your SolidWorks file here.  Indicate which "surfaces" you need as stl.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
LorenJ
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 12 of 15 (359 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

07-15-2011 01:57 PM in reply to: czoobs

I used Fusion to delete a face from a part and saved it as an STL.

 

 It comes with Inventor 2012, or you can download it from Labs.

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/fusion/

LorenJ
Active Contributor
bravaiser
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 13 of 15 (284 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

10-03-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: AustinLiu

Is it available now? I mean can you save only a surface as STL in Inventor 2012?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,254
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 14 of 15 (274 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

10-03-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: bravaiser

Yes, it is available now.  http://labs.autodesk.com
You can save a surface body as stl file in Inventor Fusion.

 

No, you cannot save a surface body as stl file in Autodesk Inventor.

 

 

(same answer as Message  #12 rephrased)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
bravaiser
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 15 of 15 (265 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

10-03-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thank you for the rapid response! 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.