Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
czoobs
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 1 of 15 (1,692 Views)

STL - can I export only surfaces?

1692 Views, 14 Replies
08-06-2010 11:39 AM

Hello Inventor users,

 

I'm wondering if there is a possiblity in Inventor to export a surface model as a STL file. I use CAD programs to prepare models for simulations in other software and I would like to work with Inventor because my Depratment uses it. Till now I have been using SolidWorks and with a little trick it is possible to export surfaces as a STL file. In Inventor I didn't manage to do this. So, is it possible? 

 

Best regards,

 

Wojek

*Expert Elite*
jclaidler
Posts: 566
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 2 of 15 (1,689 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-06-2010 11:51 AM in reply to: czoobs

STL is an export option for Inventor 2011.

John Laidler


AutoCAD 2014 | Inventor Professional 2015 | Navisworks Manage 2015 | Vault Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 15 (1,678 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-06-2010 12:42 PM in reply to: czoobs

czoobs wrote:

 export surfaces as a STL file. In Inventor I didn't manage to do this. So, is it possible? 

 Wojek


I don't think it is possible to export surface bodies as stl in Inventor.
AFAIK only solid bodies are supported for stl export.
(Of course the exported stl is all surfaces as stl is a surface definition format.)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
AustinLiu
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎12-19-2007
Message 4 of 15 (1,655 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-08-2010 07:40 PM in reply to: czoobs

Wojek,

 

It's not feasible for Inventor to export surface data as STL.

Why not use other formats instead? IGES/STEP/Parasolid?

 

Also if available, please share me more information about your workflow and request. We may consider the surface export in STL later.

 

Thanks,

Austin



Austin-Zongjie Liu
Zongjie.Liu@autodesk.com
Software Quality Assurance Manager
Design, Lifecycle & Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
czoobs
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 5 of 15 (1,635 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-09-2010 07:52 AM in reply to: czoobs

Thank you for your answers.

 

As I mentioned before I use CAD programs to prepare models for my simulations. To be precise, I simulate work of bulk handling machines and devices with the Discrete Element Method. In these simulations it is advisable to use simplified geometry because of the character of the calculating process. In many cases I need only one side of, for exemple chute wall, and surface is far enough. For now I can only import STL geometry and that is why I asked about this format. 

 

I would like to use Inventor because my department uses it and there wouldn't be any problems with data exchange.

Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 6 of 15 (1,629 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-09-2010 08:56 AM in reply to: czoobs

Buy a seat of Rhino 3D, about $1000

Export from IV to Rhino as stp

Save as stl in Rhino

 

JD,

FYI, stl is polygon mesh, not surfaces

Member
czoobs
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 7 of 15 (1,617 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-09-2010 10:09 AM in reply to: czoobs

Yes I know what STL is :smileywink:

 

The way you suggested...this is not a good solution. Maybe I'll just stay with SolidWorks

*Expert Elite*
jclaidler
Posts: 566
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 8 of 15 (1,615 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-09-2010 10:11 AM in reply to: czoobs

Try creating a 'level of detail' that only has surfaces, then export as an STL.

 

John Laidler


AutoCAD 2014 | Inventor Professional 2015 | Navisworks Manage 2015 | Vault Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 15 (1,610 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

08-09-2010 10:45 AM in reply to: jclaidler

jclaidler wrote:

Try creating a 'level of detail' that only has surfaces, then export as an STL.

 


Can you attach example files of this workflow?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
grv19191
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-15-2011
Message 10 of 15 (1,211 Views)

Re: STL - can I export only surfaces?

07-15-2011 12:59 AM in reply to: czoobs

Hi,

I am having problems with saving some surfaces as STL in solidworks. Please help me with how can i save as stl in solidworks.

Thanks

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!