Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 1 of 25

Start Inventor with fix application options

2516 Views, 24 Replies
08-27-2010 01:58 AM

Is there a way to import application option xml file everytime in Inventor during startup? Like autocad with their profile option /p 

 

mima

Employee
2,364 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Post 2 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

08-27-2010 01:20 PM in reply to: michael.marx

Yes, this should be available on R2010 and later. I have tried it on R2011 and it works. Basically, there are two switches allowing you to import options saved in XML files.

 

/IMPORTOPTIONS="path where the Application Options XML file is stored"

/IMPORTCUSTOMIZATIONS="path where the UI Customization XML file is stored"

 

Simply append the switches next to Inventor.exe in a commandline prompt or in the icon shortcut.

Let me know if it works for you.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Senior Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 3 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-01-2010 08:15 AM in reply to: michael.marx

In my case this won´t work. Inventor always starts with the same application options.

I tried both ways. i´m local admin but the startoption won´t work.

Could it be that this won´t work with SP1 anymore?

 

Regards Michael

Employee
2,364 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Post 4 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-01-2010 08:29 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi! I am on R2011SP1 also. I just tried it 5 minutes ago and it works for me. You need to follow the format exactly. Here is the target path I have in the R2011 shortcut.

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\Inventor.exe" /IMPORTOPTIONS="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Preferences\MyApplicationOptions.xml"

 

Please note that my OS is XP and the Inventor 2011 path could be different if you are not on XP. Plus the options xml file path and file name will be adjusted according to your system.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Senior Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 5 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-22-2010 02:49 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi i found the problem look at the link beinginventive

My OS is WIN 7 64bit:smileysad: this option only work for 32bit OS

 

Michael

Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 6 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-24-2010 07:59 AM in reply to: michael.marx
Micahel,

It works fine for me on Inventor 2011 with Win7 + 64-bit OS.  See:

http://www.screencast.com/t/YTg0ZjQw

 

Perhaps on Win7 it matters where the file is located that it is trying to import (just a guess).  Try a different location (like c:\temp) and see if it works. 

 

Good luck,

- Matt

 


michael.marx wrote:

Hi i found the problem look at the link beinginventive

My OS is WIN 7 64bit:smileysad: this option only work for 32bit OS

 

Michael


 

Mentor
575 Posts
20 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Post 7 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-24-2010 10:58 AM in reply to: matt.smith

Was only skimming this thread and was not even following the text but must say I am very impressed with the time and effort that went into the video that Matt posted to help with the op's question.  Good work. 

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 8 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-26-2010 11:34 PM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Matt,

 

it won´t work. The only things which were different is that my OS is localized and only win7 64 professional, and my Inventor is with a language pack german.

 

mima

Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 9 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-27-2010 02:42 PM in reply to: michael.marx
Michael,

Would you share with me the following information:

1. What specific application options are you changing that don't get imported properly on start-up? (e.g. General->Start-up action)

2. What is the location of the file you are trying to import?  Better yet, just give me the exact copy/paste of your shortcut (e.g. "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\Inventor.exe" /importoptions="C:\temp\ApplicationOptions.xml")

3. Do you have UAC turned off?  (Control Panel->System and Security->Action Center->Change User Account Control settings)

 

Given this information, I could try the same settings on my machine.  Thanks,

- Matt

 


michael.marx wrote:

Hi Matt,

 

it won´t work. The only things which were different is that my OS is localized and only win7 64 professional, and my Inventor is with a language pack german.

 

mima


 

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 10 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-27-2010 11:49 PM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Matt,

 

i tried to change the username from mima to test i attached my xml file

the location of the file is C:\TEMP\mima.xml

the shortcut target is "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\Inventor.exe" /importoptions="c:\temp\mima.xml"

the UAC is always off, local admin right´s

could it be the virus scanner? We use Trend Micro office scan r10 Sp1

 

mima

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post