Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 11 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

09-28-2010 12:07 PM in reply to: michael.marx
Michael,

I tried your mima.xml and it worked fine on my Win7/64-bit.  As to what the issue is, I think you hit it right on with your previous email--you have a localized (german) Inventor.  I looked at the code for importoptions, and the command line is actually expecting a *localized* version of the command line string (I'm guessing this is a defect).  Try the following:

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\Inventor.exe" /"Optionen importieren"="c:\temp\mima.xml"

 

(you need the quotes around "Optionen importieren" because of the space).

 

If this doesn't work, I need you to send fwuires.dll (send me a personal message to matt.smith@autodesk.com) from C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\.

 

Let me know how it goes. Thanks,

- Matt

 


michael.marx wrote:

Hi Matt,

 

i tried to change the username from mima to test i attached my xml file

the location of the file is C:\TEMP\mima.xml

the shortcut target is "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Bin\Inventor.exe" /importoptions="c:\temp\mima.xml"

the UAC is always off, local admin right´s

could it be the virus scanner? We use Trend Micro office scan r10 Sp1

 

mima


 

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
391 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 12 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

10-04-2010 07:01 AM in reply to: matt.smith

Hi Matt

 

great work now it works with "Optionen importieren" :smileyvery-happy: 

Are there any other tricks which were good to know?!

How long is it ago that the switch was built in? 

 

mima

Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 13 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

10-04-2010 12:06 PM in reply to: michael.marx
mima,

Great! Thanks for reporting back. 

1. AFAIK, the switch was first available in Inv 2010 RTM.

2. Other tricks:  I wouldn't call these "tricks", but things to watch out for:

  a. If you import a change to the Hardware->Graphic Setting, it will not take effect.  This setting cannot be imported (jus like through the UI). 

  b.  If you import a change to Colors->Interface Style, it will not take effect until you restart Inventor (same as importing through the UI, but it seems strange since you are changing the setting on start-up).

 

Overall, the command line is supposed to function identical to the "Import..." button through the UI.

 

- Matt

 


michael.marx wrote:

Hi Matt

 

great work now it works with "Optionen importieren" :smileyvery-happy: 

Are there any other tricks which were good to know?!

How long is it ago that the switch was built in? 

 

mima


 

Valued Contributor
82 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
Post 14 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

11-30-2010 07:06 AM in reply to: matt.smith

Matt,

Matt,

 

 

I was wondering if you can import the application settings trough the API or VBA?

And the User Interface and Ribbon Customizations?

Matt,

 

 

I was wondering if you can import the application settings trough the API or VBA?

And the User Interface and Ribbon Customizations?

 

Regards;

Klaas De Smedt

Matt,

 

 

I was wondering if you can import the application settings trough the API or VBA?

And the User Interface and Ribbon Customizations?

 

Regards;

Klaas De Smedt

 

PS: FireFox 4 is not that great with the discussion bord of Autodesk

If this is the solution, push the solution button :smileywink: (and maybe some kudos)
______________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suit - Ultimate edition (Subscription)
Windows 7 (64bit) 12 Gb RAM - 2x Intel Xeon E5430
Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 15 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

11-30-2010 07:10 AM in reply to: ACEDeSmedt

Klass,

I don't know the answer.  You could try posting to the Autodesk Inventor Customization forum: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/bd-p/120

 

Thanks,

- Matt

 


ACEDeSmedt wrote:

Matt,

 

I was wondering if you can import the application settings trough the API or VBA?

And the User Interface and Ribbon Customizations?

 

Regards;

Klaas De Smedt

Matt,

 

 

PS: FireFox 4 is not that great with the discussion bord of Autodesk


 

Distinguished Contributor
159 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-02-2006
Post 16 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

03-24-2011 07:17 PM in reply to: johnsonshiue

Hi Johnson

 

I have managed to start Inventor using the /IMPORTOPTIONS switch OK but having trouble with the /IMPORTCUSTOMIZATION switch, Inventor comes up with "The XML file is not a valid Inventor customization file"

 

I have exported the xml from Inventor, customize menu and can import manually but cannot configure Inventor to start up with custom xml file

 

Any suggestions?

 

Max B

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Post 17 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

06-20-2011 06:03 AM in reply to: mbodnar

Hi,

 

There are 2 Interface xml files.

1 for toolbars and 1 for custom user commands in the ribbon.

That's why you get an error.

 

The first is already handled here, but i can't seem to find anything, also the subscription guy sended me back to this thread.

 

I need to import the Custom user commands in the ribbon each time inventor starts up.

 

This thread is very helpful but i can't find anything to import the ribbon user commands

Is there a way to do this?

 

Regards,

 

Fréderic

Distinguished Contributor
159 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-02-2006
Post 18 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

06-21-2011 06:48 AM in reply to: matt.smith
Spoiler
 

Hi

 

I havent found any way so far of importing the ribbon user commands

 

Max B

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
391 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 19 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

07-05-2011 01:04 AM in reply to: matt.smith

Hi Matt,

 

i played around with this option to import application settings on startup in R2012. There are happening strange things.

For example the path for Templates is not read from the xml. And the setting for PersistDimensionOn in HUD Settings is ignored and always turned off. Still the German Version of Inventor but now the IMPORTOPTIONS is working.

 

Michael

Employee
95 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Post 20 of 25

Re: Start Inventor with fix application options

07-06-2011 11:13 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Michael,

I wasn't able to reproduce the issue you are seeing--both those options get imported successfully for me.  Would you send me your xml file to see if I can spot anything that stands out?

 

- Matt

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!