Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
danielw88
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 1 of 10 (1,277 Views)
Accepted Solution

sprockets

1277 Views, 9 Replies
01-15-2013 08:05 AM

Does anyone have a good place to get 3d models of roller chain sprockets? I've been looking for a while now but i can't find anything that provides the variety or accuracy i need.


danielw88 wrote:

The last time i used it, if i can recall correctly, generated a pair of discs (with not teeth) with a blue, transparent chain mock-up.

 

The sprockets i need are H80B48, H80B15, H60B60


My memory isn't that great - but I don't recall a release that didn't generate real teeth.

I have never bothered to check the DA generated toothform against my Machinery's Handbook spec generated toothform as sprockets are generally purchased off the shelf and my purpose for doing the geometry myself was simply to use something interesting to demonstrate how to create an iPart.


The chain is generated as a simplified blue, tranlucent representation.

Valued Mentor
Mason-Paul
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 2 of 10 (1,269 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: danielw88

You might like to try here http://grabcad.com

================
Inventor 2014 Pro

HP xw8400 workstation
2 x Xeon duel-core 3Ghz CPU , 32 GB Ram
64bit Windows 7 Pro

AMD FirePro V3900 (ATI FireGL) (1GB RAM)
=================
Ashington Northumberland (UK) ~ Home to the WORLD FAMOUS Pitman Painters Group
Valued Contributor
danielw88
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 3 of 10 (1,262 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 08:35 AM in reply to: Mason-Paul

They had alot, but not what i needed.

Distinguished Contributor
dick_upton
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
Message 4 of 10 (1,257 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: danielw88
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (1,244 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 09:06 AM in reply to: danielw88

Are you aware that there is a sprocket generator built into Inventor?

 

I have an Excel driven sprocket based on Machinery's Handbook specs that you might be interested in if the Design Accelerator sprockets won't work for you.  You might have to edit it to meet your needs.

Give me sample specs for one that you need.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
danielw88
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 6 of 10 (1,239 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 09:10 AM in reply to: JDMather

I haven't used the sprocket/chain feature in Inventor for a while. The last time i used it, if i can recall correctly, generated a pair of discs (with not teeth) with a blue, transparent chain mock-up.

 

The sprockets i need are H80B48, H80B15, H60B60

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 10 (1,236 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 09:12 AM in reply to: danielw88

danielw88 wrote:

The last time i used it, if i can recall correctly, generated a pair of discs (with not teeth) with a blue, transparent chain mock-up.

 

The sprockets i need are H80B48, H80B15, H60B60


My memory isn't that great - but I don't recall a release that didn't generate real teeth.

I have never bothered to check the DA generated toothform against my Machinery's Handbook spec generated toothform as sprockets are generally purchased off the shelf and my purpose for doing the geometry myself was simply to use something interesting to demonstrate how to create an iPart.


The chain is generated as a simplified blue, tranlucent representation.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
danielw88
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 8 of 10 (1,232 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: JDMather

Then your memory is better than mine because i just checked and the generator does include teeth on the sprocket discs.

 

Thanks for your help, other than not having a hub, those sprockets will serve their purpose. I can't belive i had forgotten about that feature.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 10 (1,225 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: danielw88

danielw88 wrote:

 other than not having a hub, those sprockets will serve their purpose. I can't belive i had forgotten about that feature.


Simply edit the part to add hub and hole as needed.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 10 of 10 (1,197 Views)

Re: sprockets

01-15-2013 06:00 PM in reply to: danielw88

I give a thumbs up to Traceparts.Has all the sprockets I could ever need.

 

http://www.tracepartsonline.net

 

 Do a search or look in here :-

Mechanical systems and components of general use > Flexible drives and transmissions > Chain drives and their components >

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.