Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sgwilliams
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 1 of 6 (2,606 Views)
Accepted Solution

Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

2606 Views, 5 Replies
09-28-2011 04:35 AM

I'm trying to create an external involute spline (ANSI B92.2M) Fillet Root Side Fit 26.9mm x 1 mm x 26 teeth x 38 mm long using the spline generator with Inventor 2012. I created a test shaft"M-182-AMA.ipt" that is Ø26.9 mm x 38 mm long with 1 mm radius on each end of shaft.

 

I use the following steps:

 

1. After creating component "M-182-AMA.ipt" I select Design tab>>Power Transmission>>Involute Spline.

 

2. A window appears that has the caption "Involute Splines Connection Generator".In the Dimensions section I choose "Splines Type: ANSI B92.2M - 37.5 deg, Fillet Root, Side Fit, 26 x 1.00 x 38 x 5H/5h" and change the Length to 38 mm.

 

3. In the Shaft Groove section I use Create new, and I push the Reference 1 button that turns blue, I then select the od feature from the model and I get an error(see attached pic "error1.jpg).

 

Did I miss a step? I changed the 26.9mm od to be 27mm and it still gave me the error. Did I do something wrong? Or is this a glitch in the software?

Work Station : Dell Precision R5400
OS: Windows 7 Business 64 Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5405 @ 2.00GHz, 1995 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A10, 4/30/2012
Graphics Display Card: ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V) 1.00 GB Adapter RAM
Computer Memory: 8 GB ECC RAM

Thank you very much for all your help. After inspecting your file to my file I noticed that the document settings on mine are defaulted to inches, as we make 99% of our product to that specification. I changed my document setting units to millimeters and then the generator worked just fine. FYI make sure that that your document settings has the same units selected as the spline that your trying to create.

 

I'm not sure why this matters other than maybe a decimal place issue when the equation is being calculated, that maybe the translation has more decimal places going from millimeters to inches(1 mm = 0.039370078740157 inch) than when going from inches to millimeters (1 inch = 25.4 mm).

 

I finally created the part I was trying to create when this road block fell in my way. Now I'm back on track and all works fine. Maybe a wish for the next version of inventor would be to fix this so it doesn't matter what your document settings units is set to.

 

Thanks again Daniela.

Product Support
Daniela_Koloszko
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 2 of 6 (2,566 Views)

Re: Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

09-29-2011 02:42 AM in reply to: sgwilliams

Could you please post the component where you try to create the spline?



Daniela Koloszko

Distinguished Contributor
sgwilliams
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 3 of 6 (2,562 Views)

Re: Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

09-29-2011 03:14 AM in reply to: Daniela_Koloszko

Thanks for the help Daniela..... here it is..... thanks.:smileyhappy:

 

Work Station : Dell Precision R5400
OS: Windows 7 Business 64 Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5405 @ 2.00GHz, 1995 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A10, 4/30/2012
Graphics Display Card: ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V) 1.00 GB Adapter RAM
Computer Memory: 8 GB ECC RAM
Product Support
Daniela_Koloszko
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 4 of 6 (2,548 Views)

Re: Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

09-29-2011 06:49 AM in reply to: sgwilliams

I did a test, in my case it works. I tested with your part and also created a new part from scratch, the involute spline could be created. I have attached my example.



Daniela Koloszko

Distinguished Contributor
sgwilliams
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 5 of 6 (2,543 Views)

Re: Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

09-29-2011 08:25 AM in reply to: sgwilliams

Thank you very much for all your help. After inspecting your file to my file I noticed that the document settings on mine are defaulted to inches, as we make 99% of our product to that specification. I changed my document setting units to millimeters and then the generator worked just fine. FYI make sure that that your document settings has the same units selected as the spline that your trying to create.

 

I'm not sure why this matters other than maybe a decimal place issue when the equation is being calculated, that maybe the translation has more decimal places going from millimeters to inches(1 mm = 0.039370078740157 inch) than when going from inches to millimeters (1 inch = 25.4 mm).

 

I finally created the part I was trying to create when this road block fell in my way. Now I'm back on track and all works fine. Maybe a wish for the next version of inventor would be to fix this so it doesn't matter what your document settings units is set to.

 

Thanks again Daniela.

Work Station : Dell Precision R5400
OS: Windows 7 Business 64 Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5405 @ 2.00GHz, 1995 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A10, 4/30/2012
Graphics Display Card: ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V) 1.00 GB Adapter RAM
Computer Memory: 8 GB ECC RAM
New Member
Brad_Tejas
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 6 of 6 (1,704 Views)

Re: Spline Design Generator - External Involute Spline Error

12-06-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: sgwilliams

I too am having issues with the involute spline.  I need to have a W45x1.5x28 7g DIN 5480 on the end of a shaft and am getting the same error. I can make the shaft end larger to and cut it down after the splines are created...however, nothing i try is working...the spline needs to be on the end with a through hole to the relief and i just can't make it work.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.