Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spiral

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
tfissel
942 Views, 6 Replies

Spiral

I'm new to autodesk and just wanted to make a simple race track with a loop in it. This is the first time I'm attempting anything with a curve/spiral in it. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how I should do this or if anyone knows of a tutorial video that explains it I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
SBix26
in reply to: tfissel

If I understand correctly, you're wanting to make a track with a helical section in it?  Like my old Hot Wheels track?  If so, creating a 3D sketch and placing a helix in it would be a good start.  Then add lines and arcs to the ends for a complete sweep path.

Message 3 of 7
JDMather

Something like this?

Loop d Loop.gif

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 7
cean_au

cool. is it a movement simulation?

Message 5 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: cean_au

@cean_au wrote:

cool. is it a movement simulation?

Done entirely in Inventor using Dynamic Simulation environment.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 6 of 7
tfissel
in reply to: JDMather

Nearly exactly like this. The difference being that I'm actually using 90 degree angle steel and will have a steel ball rolling along the track. It's actually for a proof of conservation of energy for a physics class. I don't need a CAD drawing but I thought it would be fun to try to make one.

Here is what I want to copy: http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/physics/8-01-physics-i-classical-mechanics-fall-1999/video-lectures/lectu...