Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SolidWorks To Inventor

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
HiltonBurrows
2312 Views, 11 Replies

SolidWorks To Inventor

Hi There

I have been using SolidWorks for 25 years and now have to move over to Inventor 😞  Just when I thought I had the basics problem 1 arises. Could anyone please tell me when using multiple sketches for a loft feature is it possible to constrain sketch items of the active sketch to one of the closed sketches? For example make a line colinear and equal to a closed sketch line. And if so what is the procedure.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
rdyson
in reply to: HiltonBurrows

Project (alt+p) the entity you want to constrain to. IV sketches are relatively ignorant of other entities unless you tell it.

PDSU 2016
Message 3 of 12
tsreagan

Welcome to the Inventor user family.

That frown should turn upside down after a few months in Inventor.

T.S.

Message 4 of 12
HiltonBurrows
in reply to: rdyson

Thanks for the quick response. Things are just a little frustrating at the moment 🙂
Message 5 of 12
mrattray

I understand how you feel, changing CAD software can be very painful. Thankfully, you've found yourself a wonderful resource here.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Message 6 of 12
Cadmanto

Welcome to the forum.

I feel your pain!!!  Smiley Wink  Having used SW myself for 12 years I do know where you are coming from.

What I can suggest is look into the tutorials not only in Inventor but do searches in Youtube as well.

These resources make it much easier to tranisition.  Plus we are always here for you on this forum.

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! Smiley Very Happy

New EE Logo.PNG