Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Calavetta123
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 1 of 7 (336 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sketch Symbols

336 Views, 6 Replies
10-28-2013 03:44 AM

Is there a way to update a symbol of one type, without the changes being applied to all symbols of that type in the drawing?

 

Example: If I have three Flag Note symbol's in my drawing from the same sketch symbol and the text reads 1, is there a way that I can change the text to read 2 in one of them without the other two flag notes updating as well? 

IV 2012 Pro-Suite / VP 2011
Windows Vista Enterprise - 64 Bit
Precision Workstation T7500
Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU - E5504 @ 2.00 GHz (8 CPUs)
12284 Mb Ram
Dual Quadro FX 5800

prompt.PNGdo your flag note as a prompted entry, when you insert the symbol it will ask you for it or you can RMB on the symbol and edit it, each prompted entry can be different for the same symbol

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 7 (322 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 04:32 AM in reply to: Calavetta123

Need as little more information.  Are these symbols ones created in Autocad that you are importing into an Inventor drawing?  Or are they revision symbols or balloons from parts lists?

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Valued Contributor
Calavetta123
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 3 of 7 (308 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 05:11 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

They were created in Inventor but are neither revision symbols or balloons from parts lists. It is being used for standard notes.

IV 2012 Pro-Suite / VP 2011
Windows Vista Enterprise - 64 Bit
Precision Workstation T7500
Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU - E5504 @ 2.00 GHz (8 CPUs)
12284 Mb Ram
Dual Quadro FX 5800
Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 4 of 7 (299 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 05:23 AM in reply to: Calavetta123
edit the symbol, then saveas another name or put some prompted entry into the symbol
Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Valued Contributor
Calavetta123
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 5 of 7 (294 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 05:28 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

Thanks, I thought of that but I was really hopeing to be able to edit the symbol instead of having a flag note symbol for each.  

IV 2012 Pro-Suite / VP 2011
Windows Vista Enterprise - 64 Bit
Precision Workstation T7500
Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU - E5504 @ 2.00 GHz (8 CPUs)
12284 Mb Ram
Dual Quadro FX 5800
Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 6 of 7 (281 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: Calavetta123

prompt.PNGdo your flag note as a prompted entry, when you insert the symbol it will ask you for it or you can RMB on the symbol and edit it, each prompted entry can be different for the same symbol

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Valued Contributor
Calavetta123
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 7 of 7 (276 Views)

Re: Sketch Symbols

10-28-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

 

You Rock!! That is exactly what I needed it to do.

 

Robert

IV 2012 Pro-Suite / VP 2011
Windows Vista Enterprise - 64 Bit
Precision Workstation T7500
Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU - E5504 @ 2.00 GHz (8 CPUs)
12284 Mb Ram
Dual Quadro FX 5800
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.