Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
InnoV8RE
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-26-2013
Message 1 of 7 (2,022 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sketch Offset value

2022 Views, 6 Replies
03-26-2013 07:50 PM

Hi all,

 

Quick question with offsets, and a kind of "1st world issue" type question.  Unless I am mistaken, with inventor you select the line to offset, drag the offset in the required direction and then manually select the dimension option and dimension the offset to the desired value.  If there an option somewhere where it prompts you to type in an offset value automatically once you drag the offset line? I know SW does this, and it's really just a workflow thing for me and can be lived without, but if the option is available and I have never noticed it that would be great.

 

Cheers,

You are correct, you do not get an option to input a value for the OFFSET function. It has to be constrained as a secondary function, using constraints or dimensions.

If you would like this in a future release, then you can log you request in the following forum:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/idb-p/v1232

Jon.

Product Support
jon.dean
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 7 (1,985 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

03-28-2013 05:29 AM in reply to: InnoV8RE

You are correct, you do not get an option to input a value for the OFFSET function. It has to be constrained as a secondary function, using constraints or dimensions.

If you would like this in a future release, then you can log you request in the following forum:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/idb-p/v1232

Jon.



Jon Dean

Contributor
CuriousYellow
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 3 of 7 (1,885 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

07-20-2013 10:44 PM in reply to: jon.dean

Is there a way to do aligned dimensioning?  More importantly, I use offset a lot (from lots of CAD experience, no Inventor experience)  and cannot find a way to input the offset distance nor edit the dimension.  The dialogue box says that I'm dealing with a driven dimension and it is grayed out.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,479
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,877 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

07-21-2013 03:11 AM in reply to: CuriousYellow

CuriousYellow wrote:

Is there a way to do aligned dimensioning?  ...  and cannot find a way to input the offset distance nor edit the dimension.  

Thank you!


Can you attach the file here.  You should simply select the original and offset to enter the offset distance.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
CuriousYellow
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 5 of 7 (1,868 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

07-21-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: JDMather

I'm pretty new to Inventor (Like as green as you can be with lots of AutoCAD exp.) but I found a button to toggle driven dimensions on and off and realized that once I've selected the points I'm dimensioning between I could right-click and choose 'aligned'.  Seems like there are too many steps, but it does work.

 

Thanks All!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,479
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 7 (1,859 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

07-21-2013 01:48 PM in reply to: CuriousYellow

CuriousYellow wrote:
....  Seems like there are too many steps, but it does work.

 

Thanks All!


Something isn't right.  Attach file here that requires you to do all that extra work.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,320
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 7 of 7 (1,827 Views)

Re: Sketch Offset value

07-31-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: jon.dean

I added an idea that would allow the input of an offset value.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Ability-to-Input-Distance-for-Offset-Sketch-Comma...

Feel free to cast your kudo vote in support of this idea.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.