Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
470 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-26-2003
Post 1 of 16
Accepted Solution

size of dimension text in sketch

398 Views, 15 Replies
09-03-2012 05:47 AM

Is there any way to change the size of dimension text in sketch? My students cannot see the dimension when I demonstrate the sketch.

 

Thanks

Tools>Application Options>General tab Annotation Scale

 

See Tip #2 page 2

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

I should point out - as often is the case there is an incorrect dimension on the drawing.

When we start to model in 3D with geometric constraints we find these mistakes.

 

I used to work for a VAR demonstrating another 3D CAD nearly 20 years ago.

I would go through my dog-and-pony show and then the customer would throw some complicated drawing before me and ask - can it do this?  Every single time I would find an error in their documentation.

*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 2 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-03-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: lis_wang

Tools>Application Options>General tab Annotation Scale

 

See Tip #2 page 2

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
470 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-26-2003
Post 3 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-03-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: JDMather

If your tutorial, how did you do in your Tips 39? I am reading your tutorial now. It is very informative.

Distinguished Contributor
470 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-26-2003
Post 4 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-03-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: JDMather

In your tutorial pg. 28, Tips 58. Did you create the ribs by creating a sketch? Is there any way to create a ribs just be section the drawing? I prefer this for quite some time already. It is very troulesome to manually do that especially in assembly drawing when there is a lof of parts.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 5 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-03-2012 07:08 PM in reply to: lis_wang

I'll try to remember to post some examples tomorrow.

Note that there is an obvious error in the section view on page 28 (missing hatch on bottom of image) I keep forgetting to fix that image.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 6 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-04-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: lis_wang

lis_wang wrote:

If your tutorial, how did you do in your Tips 39? I am reading your tutorial now. It is very informative.


I decided to give this problem as a quiz to my students to see if they can figure it out.

Instructions for quiz (for anyone here wanting to attempt it).

1. You may not edit or delete any features or sketches already in the file. 

2. You may not add any sketches.

3. You can only add Rectangular Pattern 3 instances of slot 10mm apart.

4. You can only mirror the slots.

(see 2012 starting file attached) (viewers here - don't look at others solutions until you think you have solution)

 

Pattern Result.png

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 7 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-04-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: lis_wang

lis_wang wrote:

.. It is very troulesome to manually do that especially in assembly drawing when there is a lof of parts.


There is no easy way (in Inventor) that I know of.  But it is easier (just a bit) than AutoCAD.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
470 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-26-2003
Post 8 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-04-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: JDMather

There is no right option in your quiz.

Distinguished Contributor
470 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-26-2003
Post 9 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-04-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: JDMather

I use this method to create rib in the drawing also. I found it is troublesome.

*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 10 of 16

Re: size of dimension text in sketch

09-04-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: lis_wang

lis_wang wrote:

There is no right option in your quiz.


Don't know what this means.
I was responding to your two questions.

 

There is an easy solution to the quiz problem. Q1

There is not an easy solution to the section view problem. Q2

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!