Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 1 of 8 (394 Views)
Accepted Solution

Simulation Help

394 Views, 7 Replies
03-13-2012 11:03 AM

I'm trying to simulate a sprag clutch using Autodesk Inventor Professional 2011 (student edition) but I'm having some trouble keeping two parts from rotating together.

 

The flange of the driving gear sits inside the clutch hub but the two should be free to rotate relative to each other. However, when I simulate the rotation of the gear, the clutch rotates with it as well. I can sort of simulate the desired behaviour by adding a torque to the clutch but I dont think this should be necessary.  

 

I can't attach the files because they're too large but I'm hosting them here: http://www.cas.mcmaster.ca/~bujakd/CAD.rar and here: https://sites.google.com/site/spizzaks/home/filehosting/CAD-Original.rar . The A4_Complete is the whole clutch, but for a simpler view A3 shows the issue I'm having.

 

Essentially Pink gear drives the Green gear, and the Orange clutch should slip on the grey flange of the green gear but it does not.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks! 

So we finally figured this out. Turns out the initial speed of the clutch was being automatically set to the same speed as the gear it sat on. I changed it to be manually set to 0deg/s relative to the housing and it looks good now.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (385 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-13-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: danibujak

What version of Inventor did you say you say you are using?

Can you open 2012 files?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 3 of 8 (381 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-13-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: JDMather

I'm using Autodesk Inventor Professional 2011 and no I don't think I can open 2012 files.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (377 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-13-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: danibujak

Sorry, I missed where you stated 2011 in your first post.

 

I haven't looked at everything yet - but first thing I noticed is an i in circle in the browser.
Since the parts are already in position you do not need the Tangency.

 

Rolling Cylinders.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 5 of 8 (373 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-13-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: JDMather

That makes sense, I'll fix that.

Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 6 of 8 (328 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-15-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: danibujak

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can try instead of applying a torque to solve the original issue?

Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 7 of 8 (299 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

03-27-2012 03:23 PM in reply to: danibujak

Still trying to figure this one out if anyone has any suggestions...

Active Member
danibujak
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 8 of 8 (277 Views)

Re: Simulation Help

04-02-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: danibujak

So we finally figured this out. Turns out the initial speed of the clutch was being automatically set to the same speed as the gear it sat on. I changed it to be manually set to 0deg/s relative to the housing and it looks good now.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.