Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
tmoxam
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 1 of 17 (704 Views)
Accepted Solution

Silkscreen - AGAIN

704 Views, 16 Replies
10-01-2012 08:00 AM

We all know there are issues with IDW's and Silkscreens. I don't know why. (after reading 40+ posts back to 2003 you would think AutoDesk would address this)

All i need is to be able to include a sketch with text as a part in an assembly for use in an IDW.

I have done the embossing/decal/extrusion thing, but, the font fill doesn't show up correctly and i am having issues printing to pdf and keeping the font filled properly. When you have 100+ pieces of text extruding each one will take you all day and at the end of it all it still looks crappy.

Although, i use many dimensions on the SS i don't want to see any in the detail view.

 

I (we all) need to be able to show the silkscreen as simple text with no other parts visible .

 

So...wishlist....create part with only sketch containing text, no features. Turn off dimensions in sketch. place on IDW.

 

We are using 2012, soon 2013. Is there no easy solution to this?? Really?

Tim Moxam - Senior Mechanical Designer
Windows 7 64 bit
Inventor 2012 Professional
Dell T1600 CPU E31245 @ 3.30GHz
8 GB RAM

Untitled.png

 

Like this?

Mine is not a separate file it is in a part with a sketch I did not extrude it. And yes it is a pain to turn of lines but not with filters on and a good window select can't take care of.

 

 

Takes me about 6 seconds to turn of part lines to me that's not bad would be faster but I had a smoke....:smileyhappy:

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 17 (699 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-01-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: tmoxam

What I do is make my text in sketch then show sketch in drawing and hide the model lines of the part.

 

This is with part border lines showing

Why NOT.JPG

 

This is with part line visibility off

 

Off.JPG


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Active Contributor
tmoxam
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 3 of 17 (688 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-01-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: jletcher

I am confused but, how do you show sketch in drawing?

The problem is to have it look correct in IDW. Lets say you have a purchased enclosure that you modify on the front panel to include holes and a silkscreen.

Sheet 1 shows the entire enclosure, sheet 2 shows the modified panel with the hole detail, and sheet 3 shows the silkscreen only. The silkscreen should be part of the panel, that is,that whenever you open the panel the silkscreen is included. it is not a separate file. It also may not be extruded due to the time and file size.( it should just be text )

When i view the assembly on the first sheet, i should see the SS, when i view the panel (hole detail) i don't want to see the SS, and in the SS view i just want to see the text (sketch)

So to use your example i should be able to place the part and then turn off visibility to the part leaving the sketch visible.

HOWEVER, sketches from parts don't show up in IDW. Not even if the only thing in the part is a sketch.

This could be soooooooo simple if Autodesk just allowed the sketch to show as necessary

 

ALSO,  why can't parts be turned off  in the view browser as in Solidworks, rather than picking and turning individual lines invisible.

Tim Moxam - Senior Mechanical Designer
Windows 7 64 bit
Inventor 2012 Professional
Dell T1600 CPU E31245 @ 3.30GHz
8 GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 17 (685 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-01-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: tmoxam

Untitled.png

 

Like this?

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-01-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: tmoxam

Mine is not a separate file it is in a part with a sketch I did not extrude it. And yes it is a pain to turn of lines but not with filters on and a good window select can't take care of.

 

 

Takes me about 6 seconds to turn of part lines to me that's not bad would be faster but I had a smoke....:smileyhappy:


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,247
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 17 (654 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-01-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: tmoxam

tmoxam wrote:

 


ALSO,  why can't parts be turned off  in the view browser as in Solidworks, rather than picking and turning individual lines invisible.


You can.. BUT you need to uncheck the associative check box (the chain link looking thing) in the base view dialog box..

 

The intent here is that part visibility should be controlled in the part or assembly file by creating a design view rep.. Or with the box unchecked you can control visibility in the idw without worrying about creating a view rep.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Contributor
tmoxam
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 7 of 17 (602 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-02-2012 04:33 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I'm sorry Mcgyvr, I'm using 2012 and i dont see any associative symbols in the IDW browser for the view. If i expand the browser I can select a component that i wish not to see in this particular view, RMB, and "Visibility" is stilled grayed out. I wish it wasn't , but, it is.

 

for the rest of the thread, thank you, i have issued the following procedure for creating silkscreens to our operators and post it here for others with the same issue...

 

When creating silkscreens when using Inventor I have found the following procedure to work “ as expected” when saving as a pdf.

 

1.     Create the silkscreen as a separate sketch. DO NOT extrude, emboss, or decal as this is time consuming and a file size waster. Also, fonts shown from these features will not be filled in PDF.

2.     In the browser, under the sketch un-check Dimension Visibility.  This will allow you to use dimensions to control the text position but, they will not show up in the drawing or on the model.

3.     Place the part in a view window in the drawing.

4.     In the IDW browser expand the part you just placed and (RMB) check “ Get model Sketches”. This will turn on the (silkscreen) sketch in the view.

5.     Create a new sketch in the view. (IDW sketch) and place corner “hash marks” and panel dimensions for the panel. ( Using the panel edges as guide) Turn off visibility of this sketch .

6.     Highlight everything in the view window, un-select text (silkscreen) and turn off visibility. Now only silkscreen remains.

7.     Turn on visibility of panel dimensions from 5.

 View now shows proper silkscreen representation.

 

Cheers,

Tim Moxam - Senior Mechanical Designer
Windows 7 64 bit
Inventor 2012 Professional
Dell T1600 CPU E31245 @ 3.30GHz
8 GB RAM
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 8 of 17 (600 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-02-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: tmoxam

This is the place to uncheck the Associative as Mcgyvr Suggested.

 

Associative.JPG


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Active Contributor
tmoxam
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 9 of 17 (595 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

10-02-2012 05:07 AM in reply to: jletcher

Yaaaaaay!!

Tim Moxam - Senior Mechanical Designer
Windows 7 64 bit
Inventor 2012 Professional
Dell T1600 CPU E31245 @ 3.30GHz
8 GB RAM
Member
.Todd.
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2010
Message 10 of 17 (494 Views)

Re: Silkscreen - AGAIN

06-05-2013 11:23 AM in reply to: tmoxam

Our company recently made the switch from Autocad to Inventor 2013 and this thread has been VERY helpful in getting our silkscreening to show up on our 2D drawings, so thank you all very much.

 

One little glitch we're having is that we sometimes include an isometric view on the drawings and haven't found a way to get the silkscreening sketch to show up in that view. Any suggestions?

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.