Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CADDapult
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎11-30-2005
Message 1 of 7 (379 Views)
Accepted Solution

showing removal clearance lines?

379 Views, 6 Replies
01-03-2013 01:03 PM

When creating a piping part, like a strainer, I'd like to be able to show something to represent the area that needs to be kept clear to allow for removal of the filter cartridge.  In AutoCAD I'd just draw a phantom circle and a few lines extending from it to show the needed room.  Does anyone have a suggestion of a way to indicate the area in an Inventor part that won't obscure parts of the main object or other objects that may be located behind?  Transparent solids, or maybe sketch entities?  It's primarily needed for design, but if it can show up in the 2D drawing (without totally blocking what's behind it) it would be a plus.

See the attached file for an example of what we've been doing in our AutoCAD models.

Mike

 

More of a curmudgeon by the hour

Hi CADDapult,

 

I think you can sketch a circle and extrude it as a surface (rather than a solid) in your part model, and use this for your needs. Surfaces will not show in the drawing views by default but can be turned on, and you can turn their visibility off in the part model as needed also.

 

I often use surfaces such as this as "helper" geometry to make constraining part models quicker.

 

Some related tips:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/how-to-get-imported-parts-and-surfaces.html

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/02/round-peg-in-square-hole-autodesk.html

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Autodesk Inventor Pipe clearance Surface.png

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,217
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (374 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-03-2013 01:21 PM in reply to: CADDapult

You could model a part for the desired clearance and change it to Reference in the BOM.

 

Reference components have the following characteristics:

 

They are ignored in the BOM.

They are excluded from the mass calculations.

They are not numbered, and are not directly included in quantity calculations.

Child components of the reference component are ignored in the BOM.

They are shown with a hidden line style in drawing views.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
CADDapult
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎11-30-2005
Message 3 of 7 (341 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-04-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: CADDapult

If I understand correctly we would make the equipment item one part and the clearance envelope another part, inserted into the assembly seperately?  While it sounds like it would work it means keeping a library of clearance models along side of the equipment models. I'd bet our designers would "forget" to insert the clearances 95% of the time, and insert them in the wrong spot 3% of the time. 

 

The option I'm hoping for is to have everything contained in the part model so the guys can't mess it up or be lazy not show them.   Would sketches in the part model to show handle swings and clearances be viable?  Is there a down side to doing it that way?

 

Sorry for being such an Inventor noob. After 25 years of using AutoCAD I'm trying to get us rolling with Inventor.  It's like being a group of professional guitar players who've been given pianos and are expected to play at the same skill level in a few weeks.  There's a lot to learn (and un-learn).

Mike

More of a curmudgeon by the hour
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,955
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 4 of 7 (326 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-04-2013 09:22 AM in reply to: CADDapult

Hi CADDapult,

 

I think you can sketch a circle and extrude it as a surface (rather than a solid) in your part model, and use this for your needs. Surfaces will not show in the drawing views by default but can be turned on, and you can turn their visibility off in the part model as needed also.

 

I often use surfaces such as this as "helper" geometry to make constraining part models quicker.

 

Some related tips:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/how-to-get-imported-parts-and-surfaces.html

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/02/round-peg-in-square-hole-autodesk.html

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Autodesk Inventor Pipe clearance Surface.png

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 7 (298 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-04-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: CADDapult

CADDapult wrote:

  In AutoCAD I'd just draw a phantom circle and a few lines Mike

 


You could do the same thing in Inventor - but I think I would use the surface body suggestion.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,217
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (273 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-04-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Good idea, I am used to using power tools that I have modeled to check for proper clearances for assembly.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
CADDapult
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎11-30-2005
Message 7 of 7 (221 Views)

Re: showing removal clearance lines?

01-07-2013 05:10 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Curtis, I think extruding surfaces will be our best bet. 

Thanks to all for your suggestions, they are very much appreciated!

Mike

More of a curmudgeon by the hour
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.