Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shock and vibration

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
WILLIAMF
2840 Views, 10 Replies

shock and vibration

Hi all,one of our customers has submitted a spec for operating shock and vibration per mil-std 167 with certain values.

I have Inventor 2014  Pro. Can the stress analysis perform what I need to simulate? Do I need another program?

I will sit down with the engineer in my dept tomorrow, I am a designer and  never worked with this extension of Inventor.

operating shock 100 g, 6mS half sine one shock input in each of three perpendicualr axes,  for a total of six shock inputs.

Just need to know basically if what I have as far as software  can be useful.

Thanks

Dell Precision 5820
Windows 10Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
32 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Product Design Suite 2019 Ultimate
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
QuasiMojo
in reply to: WILLIAMF

You need another software package to do this.  Inventor can do quasi-static stress analysis and modal analysis; you can get the steady-state loads and the resonances but you need the dynamic solution.  The industy standard for what you want is LS-DYNA.  Other major finite element packages (e.g., ANSYS) can do this, too.

Message 3 of 11
CCarreiras

Hi!

If you want to use Autodesk Software, you can also use "Mechanical Simulation" for non-linear analysis.

Regards.
CCarreiras
Message 4 of 11
WILLIAMF
in reply to: CCarreiras

I see there is a dynamic simulation tab in environments that allows the settings to be saved to ansys as atext file or AIP sress analysis.

Maybe this can be useful. I never used it so I will need to learn.

Dell Precision 5820
Windows 10Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
32 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Message 5 of 11
QuasiMojo