Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
CrAzY-MiKe
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎06-04-2003
Message 1 of 3 (470 Views)

Sheetmetal Flat Pattern Errors

470 Views, 2 Replies
01-16-2013 11:35 AM

I have attached a small Sheetmetal I-Part that is fairly representative of a lot of the work we wish to accomplish using Inventor. Stepping through the table and activating each row therein changes the model smoothly and there are no errors. But as soon as I create a flat pattern for ANY of the rows, I get the error message shown in the first of the attached JPEG images. When I choose Accept, Inventor creates the Flat Pattern, but there are no errors that I can discover (see 2nd JPEG), not even when I expand all the children.

 

Now that a Flat Pattern exists, activating other rows of the Table result in the error message each time. Delete the Flat Pattern and stepping through the Table returns no errors at all. The folded part is robust and the flat patterns have no interferences or obvious errors, so I am mystified and wonder if anyone can shed some light on this.

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2013
Inventor 2013 64-bit Edition
Win7-64, 8-core Intel® Xeon® CPU W3550 @ 3.07GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
454 GB HD, Intel® ICH10R SATA AHCI Controller
SpaceNavigator, 3.14.2 / 6.14.0 / 3.18
Valued Contributor
jddrinkwater
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-03-2012
Message 2 of 3 (426 Views)

Re: Sheetmetal Flat Pattern Errors

01-16-2013 04:15 PM in reply to: CrAzY-MiKe

I'm still on 2012, so i couldn't look at the parts in question, but i will give the same advice i give to everyone here: try changing the bend radius.  Don't ask me why, but IV seems very particular about the bend radius, and sometimes bumping it, even by a few thou up or down is enough to clear these types of phantom errors.

 

I hope this helps!

 

John

Mentor
CrAzY-MiKe
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎06-04-2003
Message 3 of 3 (375 Views)

Re: Sheetmetal Flat Pattern Errors

01-18-2013 06:36 AM in reply to: CrAzY-MiKe

Thanks, but the problem here is that a bunch of bends converge on a single point, and Inventor automatically subtracts as much material as needed so the bend extents don't overlap. Then I'm adding a standard Flange. Here's a snapshot of the model you couldn't open...

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2013
Inventor 2013 64-bit Edition
Win7-64, 8-core Intel® Xeon® CPU W3550 @ 3.07GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
454 GB HD, Intel® ICH10R SATA AHCI Controller
SpaceNavigator, 3.14.2 / 6.14.0 / 3.18
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.