Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
392-95380187
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 1 of 3 (120 Views)

Setting up a point on a different layer to mark the center point of a circle

120 Views, 2 Replies
11-15-2012 11:19 AM

Hello

 

I need to find a way how to insert a point or a * on the center point of a hole and put it on a different layer. The reason for this is - I am a CAD tech for a welding shop and we cut parts out of steel and we use the dxf file format for our plasma table to cut parts. For example : if i have a 1 inch thick plate and want to put a 3/4'' hole in the plate the hole will be distorted because the hole is smaller than the material thickness. For these situation we can use the plasma table to burn a point or a dot on the center point of the hole. But to do this the point or dot must be on a different layer in the dxf. I  hope this makes sense.

 

 

Thanks You if you have any questions you call me @ 1 204 388 6631 

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 3 (95 Views)

Re: Setting up a point on a different layer to mark the center point of a circle

11-15-2012 09:35 PM in reply to: 392-95380187

Hi

 

What you can do is similar to the this thread:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/How-to-Visibility-off-in-Detail-view/m-p/3664166#M45...

 

- Create a new layer for the plasma.

- Manually move the holes to the new layer.

   - Select lines

   - Anotate tab; Layer

   - Select the new layer.

 

If required modify the DWG export template to use the new layers for your purposes.

 


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 Update 1 Build 159
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 3 (81 Views)

Re: Setting up a point on a different layer to mark the center point of a circle

11-16-2012 04:46 AM in reply to: 392-95380187

Do you think it's wise to use your serial number or contract number as your user ID?  Hope I'm wrong about that, but that's what it looks like.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.