Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serious network instability after installation

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
alexg591
600 Views, 6 Replies

Serious network instability after installation

Hello all,

I'm a university student and FIRST robotics mentor using an educational license of inventor 2014 on windows 8.1, although I have encountered this problem with AutoCad Electrical as well on the same computer. After installation, my network connection becomes incredibly unstable. Sometimes it will go for hours without issues, but at other times (and beginning directly after installing Inventor), it will cease to work, much of the time with no indication in the windows control panel. Ping tests however fail to access any websites or even my own router. The issues also appear to affect wired connections (though I have not tested that as thoroughly). Perhaps the largest issue though is that neither uninstalling all autodesk software or even a system restore fix the problem, only a full reinstall of windows. I have performed 3 different installs, over varying time periods to make sure that the problem is not occuring before the install, and each time the problem appears when I install Inventor. I thought it was a problem with Akamai netsession which is part of the "install now" process, so on the third try I used a browser download, but the network issues STILL surfaced. This is maddening. I have reinstalled windows 3 times because of this, and I'm running out of time (I return to school on Sunday and classes begin Monday). I haven't been able to find any information about this problem, so I figured I'd post here and see if anyone can point me in the right direction.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
blair
in reply to: alexg591