Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Separating Disjoint Bodies Into Parts

25 REPLIES 25
Message 1 of 26
Anonymous
2983 Views, 25 Replies

Separating Disjoint Bodies Into Parts

I'm new to Inventor and I'm having a bit of trouble doing something I figured should be pretty basic.

I have a solid that I have cut up into multiple disjoint pieces using revolve cuts with a tolerance I specified in the sketch by giving the revolve profile a thickness. So now I have a "single" solid, but it is really separated into a bunch of pieces by empty space. I just want to make all of these disjoint pieces into separate parts. I guess making them into separate solids would be the first step. I tried making a revolved surface at the center of the revolve cut but I can't use that to split the solid. It appears you can't split a solid through a disjoint space. Is there any way to do what I'm trying to do?

Thanks!

25 REPLIES 25
Message 2 of 26
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

welcome to the forum,

assuming that you are using Invetnro 2010 or later, you'll want to use the New Solid button to create each solid as a seperate solid body.

here are a couple of youtube videos that show the process for working with multibody parts and making them individual parts:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11dyV4InbmI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDRotf2Is2g

Message 3 of 26
JDMather

Find the red End of Part marker in the feature browser.
Drag the red EOP to the top of the browser hiding all features.
Save the file with the EOP in a rolled up state.
In Windows Explorer right click on the filename and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.
Attach the resulting *.zip file here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional