Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Separating Disjoint Bodies Into Parts

25 REPLIES 25
Message 1 of 26
justindove
2967 Views, 25 Replies

Separating Disjoint Bodies Into Parts

I'm new to Inventor and I'm having a bit of trouble doing something I figured should be pretty basic.

I have a solid that I have cut up into multiple disjoint pieces using revolve cuts with a tolerance I specified in the sketch by giving the revolve profile a thickness. So now I have a "single" solid, but it is really separated into a bunch of pieces by empty space. I just want to make all of these disjoint pieces into separate parts. I guess making them into separate solids would be the first step. I tried making a revolved surface at the center of the revolve cut but I can't use that to split the solid. It appears you can't split a solid through a disjoint space. Is there any way to do what I'm trying to do?

Thanks!

25 REPLIES 25
Message 21 of 26
justindove
in reply to: johnsonshiue