Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 1 of 7 (410 Views)
Accepted Solution

Select origin?

410 Views, 6 Replies
10-04-2012 05:47 AM

I cannot select origin to constrain sketch with dimension to origin?

I selected Sketch,

expanded origin,

selected mywork plan (xy)

drew rectangle,

input dims,

right click for marking menu,

selected dimensions,

 

Origin is yellow,

cannot select it and then edge of rect to set dim that will center sketch on origin?

Just like the videos show, but cannot select origin>

 

Please advise?

spacebeagle

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,543
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (408 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Project Geometry

 

What version of Inventor are you using?  This should be automatic.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
R.Corriveau
Posts: 2,163
Registered: ‎10-10-2005
Message 3 of 7 (380 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

You should be able to. Can you post the file with the offending sketch?

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 4 of 7 (362 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 03:08 PM in reply to: JDMather

Ver. 2013

Thanks for the input.

I went through the 60 tips.

 

I appreciate your response and the links to resources!

 

Jim

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 5 of 7 (359 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Ver. 2013 Inventor Lt Suite to be perfectly accurate.

 

Thanks.

 

P.S. Any other thoughts or suggestions will be immensely appreciated.

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,481
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 6 of 7 (333 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-05-2012 04:33 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Capture.JPG

 

This is for a full version of Inventor 2013, but I imagine LT has a similar option somewhere.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 7 of 7 (302 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-05-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1
Yes, mrattray, that in fact was the step I missed.
Thanks again for everyone's input.

spacebeagle
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.