Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 1 of 7 (466 Views)
Accepted Solution

Select origin?

466 Views, 6 Replies
10-04-2012 05:47 AM

I cannot select origin to constrain sketch with dimension to origin?

I selected Sketch,

expanded origin,

selected mywork plan (xy)

drew rectangle,

input dims,

right click for marking menu,

selected dimensions,

 

Origin is yellow,

cannot select it and then edge of rect to set dim that will center sketch on origin?

Just like the videos show, but cannot select origin>

 

Please advise?

spacebeagle

Project Geometry

 

What version of Inventor are you using?  This should be automatic.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Yes, mrattray, that in fact was the step I missed.
Thanks again for everyone's input.

spacebeagle
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (464 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Project Geometry

 

What version of Inventor are you using?  This should be automatic.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
R.Corriveau
Posts: 2,163
Registered: ‎10-10-2005
Message 3 of 7 (436 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

You should be able to. Can you post the file with the offending sketch?

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 4 of 7 (418 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 03:08 PM in reply to: JDMather

Ver. 2013

Thanks for the input.

I went through the 60 tips.

 

I appreciate your response and the links to resources!

 

Jim

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 5 of 7 (415 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-04-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Ver. 2013 Inventor Lt Suite to be perfectly accurate.

 

Thanks.

 

P.S. Any other thoughts or suggestions will be immensely appreciated.

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 6 of 7 (389 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-05-2012 04:33 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1

Capture.JPG

 

This is for a full version of Inventor 2013, but I imagine LT has a similar option somewhere.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
asbuiltjmh1
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 7 of 7 (358 Views)

Re: Select origin?

10-05-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: asbuiltjmh1
Yes, mrattray, that in fact was the step I missed.
Thanks again for everyone's input.

spacebeagle
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.