Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
LHtunes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 1 of 4 (2,292 Views)
Accepted Solution

Scaling parts when placing in assembly

2292 Views, 3 Replies
03-02-2011 05:55 AM

In an assembly I'm working on, I need to place the same part multiple times, but I need this part to be a different scale each time. What would be the correct way (and hopefully easiest way) to do this? I'm working with Inventor 2010. Relatively new to the program...

 

Thank you!

A few possibilities,

 

1. you could create an iPart. every time you place an iPart in an assembly you get a popup with a table from which you have to select the part size. You have to create this table yourself, so you can only choose sizes that you put in beforehand.

2. place the part using "place iLogic component". this wil give you a pop up of all the parameters you marked as "key". each time you place the part using this method you can choose new dimensions/size.

3. create a new part and use "derive". this allows you to make a copy of your original part and it offers you a scale option.however when you have to place your part many times this could be a lot of work.

 

maybe one of these will work for you.

Contributor
BakMag
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 2 of 4 (2,273 Views)

Re: Scaling parts when placing in assembly

03-02-2011 07:34 AM in reply to: LHtunes

A few possibilities,

 

1. you could create an iPart. every time you place an iPart in an assembly you get a popup with a table from which you have to select the part size. You have to create this table yourself, so you can only choose sizes that you put in beforehand.

2. place the part using "place iLogic component". this wil give you a pop up of all the parameters you marked as "key". each time you place the part using this method you can choose new dimensions/size.

3. create a new part and use "derive". this allows you to make a copy of your original part and it offers you a scale option.however when you have to place your part many times this could be a lot of work.

 

maybe one of these will work for you.

New Member
LHtunes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 3 of 4 (2,255 Views)

Re: Scaling parts when placing in assembly

03-02-2011 08:18 AM in reply to: BakMag

Great, I will try these options out. Thank you!

New Member
med0709
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Message 4 of 4 (1,076 Views)

Re: Scaling parts when placing in assembly

07-19-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: LHtunes

Another option is create a derived part. When you create a new derived part you just need change the Scale Factor of the original part and insert this part in your assembly. If you j don't break the link with the original part and they always will scale the derived part.

This is a simple way to do what you need.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.