Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scaling down sheet metal

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
LarsHansen183
882 Views, 10 Replies

Scaling down sheet metal

Hey everyone

I'm a student in Denmark working on making a cyclone separator for a fictional client. I have an assembly made from both sheet metal parts, and I would like to scale it down by 50% so I can make a model.

And thats the problem, the regular parts aint an issue with the derive function, but I cant seem to make this work with sheet metal parts, since It wont allow me to unfold if after deriving it.

Anyone know a solution for this? We are using Inventor 2014 Professional, from some sort of school license, I've attached one of the files I'm trying to scale down.

I'm looking forward to your response 🙂

Greetings

Lars Hansen

Tags (2)
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
-niels-
in reply to: LarsHansen183

Welcome to the forum.

In order to make a flat pattern from a derived sheet metal you have to set the thickness in the "sheet metal defaults" to the correct value.
Since you're scaling it down, make sure you take that into account for the new thickness.

Hope that helps.

Niels van der Veer
Inventor professional user & 3DS Max enthusiast
Vault professional user/manager
The Netherlands

Message 3 of 11
LarsHansen183
in reply to: -niels-

Hey, thanks for the quick response!
I tried that, but still when I press the flat pattern it wont unfold it for some reason.
It swap to the interface where you can work with the flat pattern, but the shape keeps the same, though I can see when I derive it scales it down.
Message 4 of 11
-niels-

I tried with the part you posted, no problems.

I scaled it with a factor of 0.5, then in the sheet metal defaults i divided the original thickness by 2.

Intake_scaled.png

Niels van der Veer
The Netherlands