Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
MIDGETT
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 1 of 5 (937 Views)

Runtime Error when opening a Catia file

937 Views, 4 Replies
04-02-2012 01:02 PM

Hello,

 

I am using Inventor 2012, service pack 1 is installed as is hotfix DL17804781.

 

When opening certain Catia files, I get a Runtime Error.  After I click ok, Inventor closes without the ability to send a crash report.  I never had this issue using Inventor 2011, so I am not sure if it is new to 2012 or if I have something else going on.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Regards

Autodesk Product Design Suit 2012 sp1
Win 7, 64bit
HP Z400
Intel Xeon W3520 @ 3.07 GHz
16Gb Ram
Nvidia Quadpro 400 512MB

Active Member
MIDGETT
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 2 of 5 (907 Views)

Re: Runtime Error when opening a Catia file

04-03-2012 12:02 PM in reply to: MIDGETT

It appears the issue may be that Catia is now at V5 r20 and Inventor only opens up to V5 r18.   If I am incorrect, please post any other findings.

 

Regards

Autodesk Product Design Suit 2012 sp1
Win 7, 64bit
HP Z400
Intel Xeon W3520 @ 3.07 GHz
16Gb Ram
Nvidia Quadpro 400 512MB

Employee
rogermollon
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Message 3 of 5 (896 Views)

Re: Runtime Error when opening a Catia file

04-03-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: MIDGETT

Midgett,

 

Inventor 2012 supports CATIA V5 R6 through R20, so that can't be it.  What are your machine and OS specs?  You say this only happens on certain files, are they particularly large or do they have anything in common you can identify?  Can you share a file for us to look at?

 



Roger Mollon
Sr. Director, Software Development
Design, Lifecycle, & Simulation Product Group
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
MIDGETT
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 4 of 5 (882 Views)

Re: Runtime Error when opening a Catia file

04-04-2012 04:33 AM in reply to: rogermollon

Roger,

 

My specs:

 

Autodesk Product Design Suit 2012 sp1
Win 7, 64bit

HP Z400

Intel Xeon W3520 @ 3.07 GHz
16Gb Ram
Nvidia Quadpro 400 512MB

 

It seems I can open part files, but when it comes to assemblies, it's hit or miss.

 

I have attached one of the assemblies I can not open.  Also I have attached a screen shot of the error.  After I hit "ok" Inventor closes without the option to send a crash report.

 

Thanks for looking into this.

 

It seems I am not allowed to attached Catia files.  Any suggestions?

 

 

Autodesk Product Design Suit 2012 sp1
Win 7, 64bit
HP Z400
Intel Xeon W3520 @ 3.07 GHz
16Gb Ram
Nvidia Quadpro 400 512MB

Employee
ToniQin
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 5 of 5 (870 Views)

Re: Runtime Error when opening a Catia file

04-04-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: MIDGETT

Hi Midgett,

Could you please contact me at toni.qin@autodesk.com? I will create a FTP account so that you can upload the files for us to investigate the problem. 

 

Very appreciate your information.

 

Toni Qin

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.