Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
tuiengr
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-11-2002
Message 1 of 3 (609 Views)

Routing wire / cable around v - groove sheaves and smooth rollers

609 Views, 2 Replies
04-13-2012 03:09 PM

I work in a wire manufacturing plant and wondered if the "Cable Harness" feature of Inventor 2012 is adaptable enough to define the wire diameter (Typically 1-2 mm) and select the root groove of pulleys / sheaves as the wire's path.

 

My first attempt ended up with a wire touching a single tangent point around my guide pulley and the wire having a "natural" bend such that it bowed out of the real life path.  My wire is under tension in our process, so the path should be straight as the wire traverses around sheaves / rollers to reach its destination point. 

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2013 Professional SP1
Windows 7 Profession, 64-bit SP1
Intel Core i5 CPU, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600, 4800 MB
Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 2 of 3 (550 Views)

Re: Routing wire / cable around v - groove sheaves and smooth rollers

04-23-2012 04:39 PM in reply to: tuiengr

 

The cable and harness is limited when it comes to creating a wire under tension. I don't think you'll be able to get the wire as straight as you like it. I'd suggest creating an adaptive 3D sketch to create the sweep path for a wire. Work Features added to a sheaves/rollers could be used to help create the path and make it scaleable.

 

 



Nathan Chandler


*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,247
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 3 (532 Views)

Re: Routing wire / cable around v - groove sheaves and smooth rollers

04-24-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: innovatenate

I would add at least 3 points to the wire run at each pulley and then "redefine"  (with offset set at the wire radius) those points to go around the pulley (at the 3 quadrants where the wire will touch) That "should" come fairly close to what you want.

But a sweep might be a better option if that doesn't work.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.