Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 1 of 3 (243 Views)

Round fuction

243 Views, 2 Replies
11-14-2012 04:40 PM

I am using Inventor 2012.  I am trying to use the Round fuction in a parameter with no luck.

 

I have a the following parameters

 

wire_offset                in    wire_space+wire_wdt     0.231186

 

wire_offset_round     ul    round(wire_offset/1 in)    1.000

 

When I do wire_offset_round like this it works.  But if I want it to a 3 place decimal it does not work

 

wire_offset_round     ul    round((wire_offset/1 in), 3 ul)

 

According to the Inventor help, I should be able to do this.  But I can't.  I even tried it without the ul after the 3 and nothing.  Any clues?

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 3 (227 Views)

Re: Round fuction

11-14-2012 10:19 PM in reply to: cadcamm99

Hi

 

I am not sure which help you read, but, NO it will not work.

 

round (expr) will round to the closest whole number.

 

The syntax you have used WILL work with iLogic, and will change the rounding of an exported parameter, found in "iProperties, Custom"

 

What you can do for your current issue is change the precision of the value.

STEPS:

- Parameters

- RMB on "wire_offset"

- select "Custom property format"

- Change "precision" to 3

 

This will change the display of the value but not the value its self.

 

I will try and find the syntax to change the value, I have used it, but it does not always go in the direction you want it to. (Floor and ceil)

 

   

Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,930
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 3 (205 Views)

Re: Round fuction

11-15-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: cadcamm99

In your example, I'm not clear how .231186 rounds to 1.000?  Doesn't work that way for me in 2013, anyway.  If, as I suspect, you want the number rounded to three decimal places, then the following should work:

 

wire_offset_round   ul   round(wire_offset * 1000 ul / 1 in) / 1000   .231000

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.