Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rotation constraint issue.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
ThinAirDesigns
915 Views, 5 Replies

Rotation constraint issue.

Hi Y'all.  JB the noob here again.  

I have watched numerous tutorial videos and searched the forum, but I guess part files speak a thousand words so here goes.

Attached is a demonstration project designed to highlight my question/issue.  I am trying to understand how the Motion/Rotation constraint is applied.

Notice how the small green disk rotates as it is moused around the large grey disk - just as I would expect according to the applied constraints.  Notice how the yellow slides around it's tangent constraint, but doesn't rotate.  It has essentially the same constraint applied.

I have tried a dozen different ways (clicking on different faces/lines/etc. and in different order) but all with the same nada results.  

What am I doing wrong?  How can I get the yellow wheel, constrained to it's mating groove to rotate the same way as the green disk on the flat surface?

Thanks
JB

Inventor 2013
Windows 7
Recent Thinkpad
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
CCarreiras
in reply to: ThinAirDesigns

Hi!

Usually the Rotation constraint is applied in different cases, even though, it works also in these cases.

The issue is, you have to constrain plan faces instead the cilindric that you have.

See the video and Try it.

https://screencast.autodesk.com/Main/Details/f572a83b-d7b3-48e6-bce4-80d817c9d4a7#

Tip: if you want to use a cilyndric shape, build a very very small plain face, just to have conditions for the constrain may work.

Note: In other cases, with different conditions, that kind of geometry also work, but not in these case (you have one element of the rotation grounded)